Skip to Main Content
Consumer Health
Consumer Health Education Guide
Resources to assist students, individuals and families in health matters.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
MedlinePlus in Spanish / En español
MedlinePlus es un servicio informativo en línea de salud para pacientes, familiares y amigos. Es producida por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina de Estados Unidos (NLM, por sus siglas en inglés), la biblioteca médica más grande del mundo y parte de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud de EE. UU. (NIH).
Drug Information Resources
DailyMed
The DailyMed database contains 153339 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies.
Drugs.com
Drugs.com is the largest, most widely visited, independent medicine information website available on the Internet. Their aim is to be the Internet’s most trusted resource for drug and related health information.
Guidelines
AHRQ Clinical Guidelines & Recommendations
From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Equality: Evidence-based research provides the basis for sound clinical practice guidelines and recommendations.
CDC: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Find guidelines and updates on disease outbreaks and public health issues, as well as information on diseases and conditions; healthy living; workplace safety; environmental health; injury, violence and safety; global health; travelers’ health and more.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
The ECRI Guidelines Trust® is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other healthcare providers and professionals, and members of the healthcare community with current clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care globally. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
Specific Focus
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.
