Skip to Main Content

University Libraries

Bilingual Communities: SPAN 0826

Library resources that support the GenEd course Bilingual Communities.

Country Facts & Stats

CIA - The World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Europa World This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints, this resource has not been renewed as of 12/31/2023.
Concurrent user limit: 4
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, a source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book covers political and economic information in countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Credo Reference

Use this database to find background information on countries, languages, peoples, and topics.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

Language Data and Research

Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue is a database of information about the world’s 7000 living languages. For each language, it lists names and dialects, population estimates, location, details by country, vitality level, usage, and second language information.

Global Issues in Context

Use this database to find background infomration, scholarly and news sources on current issues in countries and regions throughout the world.

Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context contains pages and full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Focuses on issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming.