Elementary Hausa: AAAS 1125

"Hausa students and Hausaphiles now have an English-Hausa dictionary that is readily available and more comprehensive than any English-based dictionary for an African language..It establishes both precedent and an excellent model that one hopes will be followed for other less commonly taught languages." -William R. Leben, Modern Language Journal; This is a modern comprehensive dictionary designed specifically for English-speaking users who wish to acquire communicative fluency in Hausa, West Africa's most important and most widely spoken language. The dictionary contains a broad selection of words that the average person is likely to need in speaking and writing Hausa for everyday use Included are common technical terms drawn from a range of fields, as well as generally accepted borrowings from English and French. The entries are divided into meaning groups and grammatical categories, marked clearly by semantic and usage indicators to help the user distinguish between the various meanings Numerous phrases, sentences, and common idiomatic expressions illustrate conversational usage and provide culturally informative contexts. The easy to read typography marks lexical and grammatical distinctions of tone and vowel length for every Hausa word in the dictionary. The introduction provides concise information on various points of Hausa grammar. Useful appendixes include pronoun paradigms, pronunciation guides to Hausa place names and personal names, an index of Nigerian and international organizations, and a description of the currencies of Nigeria and Niger.

This book was originally published in 1972 and relates to the Hausa-speaking people of West Africa. At the time of publication there were perhaps as many as 15 million Hausa-speaking people in the area, most of whom lived in the countryside in northern Nigeria and the neighbouring Niger Republic. This book is at once an examination of the socio-economic life of a small Hausa village and a study of the way of life of the rural Hausa generally. The book as a whole provides a wide-ranging survey both of what was known and of what was, and in some cases still is, little understood. Very few books had been written on the rural Hausa, much of the literature consisting of scarce pamphlets and official reports; this book not only reports important research, but also surveys literature which was otherwise not generally available. The themes which emerge from this study are similar to many which Polly Hill has stressed elsewhere: people who do not fit into crude stereotypes and socio-economic life are always much more varied and sophisticated than superficial observers would suppose.