Anthropology:
Anthropology Plus. Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK.
AnthroSource. A fulltext database providing online access to current and past journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Pub-Med. For Physical and Biological anthropology
Biology/Health:
PubMed: covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It provides coverage of biomedical journals from the United States and 80 other countries, dating back to the mid-1950's.
Business/Economics:
Business Source Premier: contains 2,804 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc.
Econlit:a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the worldwide literature on economics from over 300 major economic journals, books, and collective volumes.
Criminal Justice:
Criminal Justice Abstracts: comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Education:
Popular Culture:
Academic Search Premier (General)
LexisNexis Academic: access to major U.S and world publications, web publications, News wire services, and TV and radio broadcast transcripts. (Popular and Legal)
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (Film and Media)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (Language)
MLA International Bibliography (Literature)
The Music Index Online (Music)
Political Science and Policy:
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
LexisNexis Academic: access to major U.S and world publications, web publications, News wire services, and TV and radio broadcast transcripts. (Popular and Legal)
PAIS International (1915-) : national and international public policy information from journal articles, books, conference research reports, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
Psychology:
PsycINFO: citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Sociology:
Sociological Abstracts: Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's literature on sociology and applied aspects of sociology.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: unique in its broad coverage of international material.
Urban Studies:
Urban Studies Abstracts: covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance.
America: History and Life (for the United States and Canda, excluding the rest of the world): an essential resource to the history of race in America: it provides complete coverage to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, comprising almost 400,000 bibliographic entries. This database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities."
Historical Abstracts: covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
JSTOR: a multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Race Relations Abstracts: more than 300 publications providing the latest information and research findings in race relations. Issues covered include discrimination, education, employment, health, politics, law, and legislation.
World History Collection: Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. These hand-selected information sources cover a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more.
African American Experience: an outstanding resource for understanding African American life and history. Contents includes both primary and secondary sources:
Title List. a list of more than 520 titles that make up the core content contained in the American Mosaic.
Timeline. content from Greenwood’s African American Chronology
Image Index. 2,500 photographs, illustrations, maps, and other images by navigating our alphabetical index.
Primary Source Index. 5,400 quotations, speeches, legal cases, historic essays, and other primary sources.
Landmark Documents. a selection of key Quotations, Speeches, Letters, Articles, Laws, and Legal Cases in African American history.
Slave Narratives: more than 4,000 interviews conducted by the WPA with former slaves in the 1930s.
Classic Texts: more than 65 titles from the Negro Universities Press imprint, dating as far back as 1828, many representing the foundations of African American scholarship.
Audio Files: primary source material of music and interviews, including testimony from former slaves.
A comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. The Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s.
Early Encounters in North America
Assembled from hundreds of primary sources, this database documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850.
"a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories."
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Newspapers at Temple University Libraries. TU Libraries provides full text online access to a large number of local, national, and international newspapers, both current and historical.
Another great resource for newspaper articles is the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC), located on the ground floor of Charles; it maintains a large number of clipping files on a variety of topics, with clippings going back to 1900, from the old Philadelphia Bulletin and other publications.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
"letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia."
SimplyMap provides easy access to the race and ethnicity varibles from the 1980, 1990, and 2000 censuses, and the 2006 and 2007 projections. With these variables, it is possible to plot the growth, decline, or concentration of ethnicity populations, anywhere in the country, at the state, county, city, zip code, census tract, or census block level. If preferred, a report can be created rather than a map.
To use the database, begin by creating an account. Once inside the database, view the tutorial videos, linted in the uper right corner of the database window.
Academic Search Complete: Multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for over 3,460 scholarly publications
Blackwell Synergy: Hundreds of scientific, technical, social science, humanities and medical journals published by Blackwell Publishers and affiliated societies.
Cambridge Journals Online: Fulltext online versions of approximately 200 journals from Cambridge University Press.
JSTOR: a retrospective, multidisciplinary database including articles within 3 to 5 years before the present.
Oxford Journals Online:Major international publisher of over 180 academic and research journals, many in partnership with the world's leading prestigious learned societies. The collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law.
