Books often provide more detail and are more expansive than academic articles. Sometimes they are collections of papers or essays that are essentially what you would find as an academic article.
Library Search is the main tool for books in the Temple University Libraries system. The system uses the Library of Congress classification system, which uses letters and numbers to arrange books. Political Science is generally in the area of the call letters J, law is K, and country and state topics are generally in the range D-E-F. .For example,
Subject heading: Election law - United States Voter Registration - United States
If you can't find a title or all the available copies are checked out, try E-ZBorrow, or ILLiad. These are tools for searching and requesting books you know the title of from academic libraries. The service can usually deliver a book that is available in about 4-5 days.
Book Review Index Online provides book review citations from of various publications.
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Note: This is an upgrade from America: History & Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes citations of books and media reviews from a selection of journals in US and Canadian history and related fields, as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes journals in the social and humanities sciences, covering 1953-present.
