Research Guides: Writing the City: ASST 2196: Get Background Info

Encyclopedias, Biographies, Essays, Theories

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 12 users on the platform
Oxford Reference Online includes subject and language reference sources from Oxford University Press, including many titles from the Oxford Companions Series. Browse or search single titles, specific subject areas, or the entire collection.
Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Authors provides access to current biographical and bibliographical data on modern authors. Included are author-provided updates, expanded entries, bibliographies, awards, and recent update information.
Cambridge Companions [via Cambridge Collections Online] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Cambridge Companions [via Cambridge Collections Online] contains full text books and chapter extracts. It includes Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory This link opens in a new window
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory is a resource of literary theory and discourse. It includes entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Salem Literature provides access to literary criticism reference works from Salem Press. Temple's access includes Masterplots (4th ed.) and Magill's Literary Annuals.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu

Writing the City: ASST 2196

Encyclopedias, Biographies, Essays, Theories

Recommended Reference Sources

Temple University

University Libraries