International Criminal Law

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the judicial branch of the United Nations and sometimes referred to as the World Court. While there is a UN office for protection agains genocide, war crimes, and ethic cleansing, the ICJ often refers cases to the International Criminal Court, which works independently. Find ICJ basic documents and opinions on its website.

This site describes the UN's charge and work to uphold international law through courts, tribunals, treaties and security council actions. The structure and programs dedicated to carrying out this activity is detailed.

Study the activity of the International Law Commission, in partigular its research and analytical guide, to learn about the development and efforts to codify international law.

For overview discussions of international criminal law and procedure topics, view lectures in the United Nations Audiovisual Library.

The United Nations' official depositary, the Treaty Collection offers a searchable database of Certified True Copies of more than 560 multilateral treaties, as well as information regarding their status, photos of treaty ceremonies, and related materials.

A searchable collection of databases (including the Historical Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, and the United Nations Treaty Series) offering the texts of international agreements from around the world from 1648–present. Hein's U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library includes a searchable index, U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements, and Treaties and Other International Acts.

UN Office of the High Commissioner of Human Rights maintains this site listing nine core human rights conventions and protocols and the UN committees charged with monitoring their implementation.

This collection from Yale University contains Conference, Geneva Convention, and Nuremberg Trials documents.

This site gathers foundational treaties and instruments in the areas of human rights and other international subjects.