Find Statistics & Data - State and Development POLS 3530 - 002

US Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
Statistical Abstract of the United States provides a collection of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Legislative Insight is a Federal history service that includes compilations of full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Documents may include: bills, reports, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Presidential Signing Statements, and Statutes. For documents that are not part of a legislative history, please use ProQuest Congressional.
Historical Statistics of the United States

Historical Statistics of the United States contains reference data covering U.S history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context.

Data USA
"Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources that are often incomplete and difficult to access, you can simply point to Data USA to answer your questions. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge."

Reports on Philadelphia Demographics

A City Transformed: The Racial and Ethnic Changes in Philadelphia Over the Last 20 Years
Pew Charitable Trusts | Philadelphia Research Initiative 2011 report that analyzes 1990 and 2010 Census data on Philadelphia.
Philadelphia: The State of the City
Pew Charitable Trusts | Philadelphia Research Initiative 2014 report.
Philadelphia's Changing Middle Class
Pew Charitable Trusts | Philadelphia Research Initiative 2014 report.

US Government Sources

Bureau of Economic Analysis
more... less...

Provides US Economic Accounts at the National, International, Regional, and Industry level , part of the US Commerce Department.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
more... less...

"BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded."
Bureau of Labor Statistics
more... less...

The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Congressional Budget Office
more... less...

"Since its founding in 1974, the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process."

data.census.gov

data.census.gov provides data from the U.S. Census Bureau including the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.

Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
more... less...

Packed with data and research on the US economy. Great for students, faculty, and researchers. Includes academic articles, regional and national economic data.
National Center for Education Statistics
more... less...

"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
National Transportation Statistics
more... less...

"National Transportation Statistics presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security."
U.S. Census Bureau
more... less...

Click on the Data tab for all Census data options.

Temple University

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu