Skip to main content

Visual Anthropology: Film

A Guide to Resources at Temple and Elsewhere

Finding Films at Temple

Temple University faculty and students have access to two large video and DVD collections: 1) the CLA Ed Tech Center collection located in AL-21 Anderson Hall , and 2) the Paley Library collection, located in Media Services on the ground floor of Paley Library.

The CLA ED Tech Center collection is a teaching resource for faculty and TAs; faculty and TAs are permitted to checkout video, audio, and slide resources or place them on reserve for classes. Students are not permitted to checkout materials but may view visual materials related to their coursework in selected study spaces at the Center. 

Materials from the Paley Library collection should be asked for at the Media Services Desk on the ground floor of Paley, and can be checked out by anyone with a Temple ID for a period of 7 days, and be placed on reserve for classes. All videos and DVDs from both collections are listed in Library Search Videos or DVDs in either collection can be easily located by title, by selecting the Media tab search option on the library main search screen.

If you need a film or would like to request the purchase of a film for the Paley Library Film Collection, please send an email with information about the film to the Subject Specialist for Anthropology, Gregory McKinney.

Royal Anthropological Society


RAI Film Catalogue, Vol. I. Includes detailed descriptions of films and bibliographical entries, is partially available on-line.

RAI Film Catalogue, Vol. II. , Includes detailed descriptions of films and bibliographical entries, is now available on-line.

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. This first release includes 404 videos totaling roughly 270 hours. More»

Films on Demand

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu

Films from Documentary Educational Resources (DER)

Documentary Educational Resources (DER) is an important  source for classic and contemporary ethnographic films, and is a major provider for many of the ethnographic films available from Media Services on the ground floor of Paley Library. Below is a list compiled in 2014, of many of the DER films available for checkout. For other films, including DER films purchased after 2014, search the Library Search and limit it to Media.

African dance: sand, drum and Shostakovich / Kinodance ; producer & director: Ken Glazebrook, Alla Kovgan, c2004. A documentary exploring African contemporary dance featuring eight modern dance companies from Africa, Europe and Canada, as well as interviews with dance historians.

African primates: five species : images from the field / by Anne Zeller, [2005], c1994. Provides comparative behavioral information on three monkey and two ape species in their natural habitats. The video focuses on the roles that various individuals play in the life of the group, and provides information on foraging, locomotion, infant specialization, and male-female interactions in a comparative manner among the five species. The species are two cercopithecine types, the vervet (Cercopithecus aethiops) and the blue monkey (Cercopithecus mitis), one colobine, the black-and-white colobus (Colobus abyssinicus), and two apes, the common chimpanzee (Pan troglodytes) from Gombe, and the eastern lowland gorilla (Gorilla gorilla graueri) from Zaire. Some of the video material is in the form of slides to include situations for which no other information was available. Interactions with humans are not a focus of this video, although some scenes demonstrate the close quarters at which humans and primates exist. This video could also provide some background for discussions of conservation problems in Africa.

Agenda 31 / produced by Video in the Villages ; direction, Mari Corrêa, Vincent Carelli, 2007. By combining traditional knowledge and new technologies, the Acre State Training Program of the Forest indigenous Agents bring a new conscience of environmental management, inverting a process of damaging of natural resources in the indigenous reserves.

The Akha way / produced by Yellow Cat Productions and Sharon Hainsfurther, c1999. For over a thousand years, the Akha people have occupied the hills of southern China, Burma, and northern Thailand. This documentary describes their origins and their culture, and their struggle to survive in the modern world.

The architecture of mud / Anonymous Productions presents a project by Caterina Borelli and Pamela Jerome ; written, produecd and directed by Caterina Borelli, 2004. Describes the techniques and uses of mud bricks as building materials in Hadhramaut region of southeast Yemen. Discusses the stages of mud construction, its advantages over cement, and the value of lime waterproofing.

The art of documentary filmmaking, 2007.  Anglo-Burmese filmmaker Lindsey Merrison brings together 8 tutors versed in documentary filmmaking with 12 young Burmese men and women for a three-week workshop titled The art of documentary filmmaking.

At the time of whaling / Alaska Native Heritage Film Project ; by Sarah Elder and Leonard Kamerling, [1987].  Presents the communal life of the Eskimo people of Gambell, Alaska, a Yup'ik-speaking community on St. Lawrence Island in the Bering Sea. Shows their relationship with the ice through a whaling expedition.

The ax fight / a Documentary Educational Resources Production ; a film by Timothy Asch and Napoleon A. Chagnon ; script, Napoleon A. Chagnon, [1989?], c1975. A four-part analysis of a fight in a Yanomamo Indian village between local descent groups. Includes an unedited record of the event; a slow-motion replay of the fight; a discussion of the kinship structure of the fight; and an edited version.

B.A.T.A.M / a film by Liam Dalzell, Per Erik Eriksson, Johan Lindquist, 2006. Follows the contrasting stories of two Indonesian female migrants--one a factory worker, the other a prostitute--on the Indonesian island of Batam. An official economy of the day, based in the factories, and an unofficial economy of the night, based on sex work, have developed together, increasing Batam's population from 3,000 to 700,000. As the two economies depend on female labor, the experiences of these two women illuminate the way in which multinational capitalism and migration interact in the shadowlands of globalization.

A Balinese trance seance & Jero on Jero / produced by Documentary Educational Resources, 2007. In a Balinese trance seance, Jero Tapakan, a spirit medium in a small, central Balinese village, consults with a group of clients in her shrine house. In Jero on Jero, anthropologist Linda Connor and filmmakers Tim and Patsy Ash return to Bali and present Jero with a videorecording of the previous film and elicit comments from her about the film and her views on the causes and treatments of disease.

The Bharvad predicament / film makers, Roger Sandall, Jayasinhji Jhala, 1987. Bharvad cattle herdsman have been nomadic pastoralist for centuries. The film presents the conflict that has arisen between the local landholding farmer and the Bharvad, in Dhrangadhra, northern India.

La chasse au lion a larc / un film de Jean Rouch ; Les Films de la Pléiade, [2000?]. An ethnographic study which follows a band of Niger hunters from the elaborate preparations for lion hunting through the actual kill. Lion hunting is reserved by tradition to the Gao, a group of professional hunters, masters of the techniques and rituals of poison-making. The film describes the intricacies of brewing the poison for the arrows and discusses the passion of the kill.

Circles-cycles: Kathak dance / director and producer, Robert Gottlieb, 1989. Illustrates the concept of the circular in Indian philosophy and religion through music and dance performances of Kathak, the classical dance form of North India. Includes the history, technique, and lore behind Kathak dance.

Close encounters of no kind / by Jayasinhji Jhala ; produced by Joseph Miller and Custom Video Productions, 2007. This film follows the Rabari, camel and sheep herders of Saurashtra, India. Their nomadic lifestyle requires them to move herds of sheep and camels across the Saurashtrian landscape to seek grazing and water. This practice has been going on for hundreds of years and during that time the Rabari have developed close working relationships with many groups and deeply adverse relations with other groups. Traveling with the Rabari through the region of Jhalavad for a period of two months as they drift eastwards on their out migration, the film consists of a series of conversations with different caste groups about the Rabari way of life and their relationships with other groups. This film addresses issues related to social relations, pastoralism, ecology and land resource management.

Conversations with Jean Rouch / by Ann McIntosh, [2004]. This intimate, revealing video of conversations between Jean Rouch and a number of filmmakers and friends, including John Marshall and Colin Young, is unlike any past films on Rouch's life and work. It was shot over a three-year period from 1978-1980 by his friend, Ann McIntosh.

A darker side of fair  / Dravidian Productions ; a film by Deepak Leslie, c2004.  Shedding new light upon issues of global diversity, this documentary focuses on the extent to which a "fairness fetish" has permeated Indian society. The preference for lighter, fairer skin is examined in various areas including the fashion industry and arranged marriages. Evidence of the fair skin ideal is traced back to the great epics of India, the Ramayana and Mahabarata, through the British Raj, up through contemporary society. With a focus on the emotional and psychological impact, this film addresses the historical and contemporary factors that contribute to the pressures thrust upon Indian women by a society obsessed with fair skin.

Dead birds / a film by Robert Gardner, c2004. Dead Birds is a film about the Dani, a people dwelling in the Grand Valley of the Baliem high in the mountains of West Irian. The film, shot in 1961, documents the almost classic Neolithic culture if the Dani. They were exceptional in the way they focussed their energies and based their values on an elaborate system of intertribal warfare and revenge. Neighboring groups of Dani clans, separated by uncultivated strips of no man's land, engaged in frequent formal battles. When a warrior was killed in battle or died from a wound and even when a woman or a child lost their life in an enemy raid, the victors celebrated and the victims mourned. Because each death had to be avenged, the balance was continually being adjusted with the spirits of the aggrieved lifted and the ghosts of slain comrades satisfied as soon as a compensating enemy life was taken.

Dinka diaries / Independent Television Service presents ; National Black Programming Consortium ; produced and co-directed by Filmon Mebrahtu, c2006. Dinka diaries tells the story of some of America's most recent arrivals, Sudanese refugees, who would have never dreamt a few years ago that they'd be living in America. Over the course of ten months, the film follows the lives of three Sudanese refugees who resettle in the Philadelphia area and adjust to the new American culture and way of life.

The drums of winter = Uksuum cauyai / Alaska Native Heritage Film Project ; [produced, directed and written] Sarah Elder and Leonard Kamerling, 2006. Explores the traditional dance, music and spiritual world of the Yupik Eskimo people of Emmonak, a remote village at the mouth of the Yukon River on the Bering Sea coast.

The feast  / a film by Timothy Asch and Napoleon Chagnon, [c1970]Examines the first stages of alliance formation between two mutually hostile Yanomamō Indian villages in southern Venezuela and northern Brazil. Describes in detail the preparations for a feast involving the inhabitants of the villages and presents scenes of chanting, dancing, and trading at the feast.

Fishing at the stone weir: Netsilik Eskimos / Education Development Center, U.S.A. and the National Film Board of Canada, [2000?], c1967. Documents a group of Netsilik Eskimo setting up camp by a major stream and preparing for fishing. Shows construction of fish traps, spears and other implements for catching, cleaning, and preparing fish. The nomadic way of life of "The people of the seal" lasted into the 1960s.

Free-for-all in Sararé / Centro de Trabalho Indigenista ; direction, Vincent Carelli, Mauricio Longobardi, Virginia Valadão, 2007. Since the 1960's the Nambiquara Indians of Mato Grosso, Brazil, have been decimated and their lands degraded by lumber and gold-mining interests. This video presents the points of view of the Indians, prospectors, and government officials.

Friends in high places / produced and directed by Lindsey Merrison, c2001. Film on the central role of nats and spirit mediums in alleviating the day to day burdens of modern Burmese life. The mediums profiled in the film, chiefly gay men, are considered to be neither male nor female and are regarded by society with a curious mix of reverence and disdain.

The goddess and the computer / an Independent Communications Associates production ; produced & directed [by] Steve Lansing, André Singer, 1988. Examines centuries-old traditions of rice farming on Bali in which water is considered a gift from a goddess and is controlled by priests. The importance of this religious system of irrigation came to light only after newly introduced methods of rice farming were introduced as a result of the green revolution and production decreased while pests multiplied. A computer modeling system was developed which confirmed the wisdom of the old traditions.

Gone to pat / an Adirya Kashyap production ; a Mainak Bhaumik film, [2005]. The Patuas, or Juang, who live in the small village of Noya, Midnapore, in India, practice a form of painting called "pat"--richly colored storyboards on scrolls that reflect the ancient myths of their Indian culture. This art form is transmitted from generation to generation - the subjects and styles of the paintings simply changing over the years, encompassing what is culturally appealing at the time. Myths are now being replaced by news stories and social subjects, such as domestic abuse and environmental issues. While keeping religious and folk myths alive, the pats have taken on a new purpose: to raise social awareness.

Hello photo / a film by Nina Davenport, 2006. Nina Davenport spent one year travelling throughout India, capturing images of the people and the country few Westerners ever see.

Hosay Trinidad / Center for Folklife Programs and Cultural Studies, Smithsonian Institution ; research and script by Frank Korom ; produced by John Bishop, 1999.  "An ethnographic film about the obervance of Shiʻite Muharram rites on the island of Trinidad"--Container.

The hunters / produced by the Film Study Center of the Peabody Museum of Harvard University ; written and directed by John Marshall, c2004.  In this classic documentary, the Kalahari Bushmen of Africa wage a constant war for survival against the hot arid climate and unyielding soil. 'The Hunters' focuses on four men who undertake a hunt to obtain meat for their village. The chronicle of their 13-day trek becomes part of the village's folklore, illustrating the ancient roots and continual renewal of African tribal cultures.

Imagining Indians / writer, producer, director, Victor Masayesva, Jr., 1992. Using an eclectic mix of interviews, staged scenes and graphic imagery, this film represents a Native American's view of the disparity between self-perception and the white culture's principally Hollywood-inspired interpretations of American Indians. Includes an eye-opening Native American perspective on recent popular films by Kevin Costner and Robert Redford.

In pursuit of the Siberian shaman / CineTrance Films ; written, directed and produced by Anya Bernstein ; filmed by Anya Bernstein, c2006. A documentary on the revival of Buryat shamanism based on the field research on Olkhon Island. Also shows a behind-the-scenes look at an indigenous shaman living on the island as he moves between shamanic rituals performed for the local clientele and shows performed at various resorts for Western tourists in search of "primitive" cultures.

Incidents of travel in Chichen Itza / Documentary Educational Resources presentation, 2006. This film depicts how New Agers, the Mexican state, tourists and 1920s archaeologists all contend to "clear" the site of the Maya city of Chichen Itza in order to produce their own idealized and unobstructed visions of "Maya" while the local Maya themselves struggle to occupy the site as vendors and artisans.

It's now or never! : twenty years of battles / produced by Centro de Trabalho Indigenista ; direction, Mari Corrêa & Vincent Carelli, 2007. The Macuxi Indians live in Roraima State on the Venezuela and Guiana borders and their population is estimated of fifteen thousand. In April 1997, the Mascusi Indians of North Roraima, Brazil, celebrate twenty years of struggle to have their reservation recognized by the government.

Jaguar, a Yanomamo twin cycle myth as told by Daramasiwa / Documentary Educational Resources, 1976. The myth is that of Jaguar, a prominent figure throughout South American indian mythology. Long ago, Curare woman tasted bitter, so Jaguar did not eat her. Curare woman hid her pregnant daughter in the roof above Jaguar's hammock, and sent Jaguar far away to hunt while her daughter was fed by birds whom she protected. One day the daughter pissed all over Jaguar. He smelled the urine and smashed the daughter to the ground, killing her. Curare woman took the daughter's twin fetuses and hid them in a bark container, where they became hekura spirits. When they grew to be men and became "aware", they sought revenge. Through cunning and with an arrow obtained from the sky's edge, they succeeded in killing Jaguar.

Jean Rouch and his camera in the heart of Africa / a film by Philo Bregstein in cooperation with Dutch Television ; scenario, Philo Bregstein, Jan Venem, 1986. This program provides an in-depth look at the film work of Jean Rouch and his associates from Niger who participated in production of many of Rouch's Niger-based films. Rouch, Philo Bregstein and Niger cameramen discuss filmmaking and filmmakers who have had historical influence in the field. Segments from several of Rouch's earlier film works are interspersed with the filming in Niger and interviews.

Jean Rouch / [WCVB-TV], c2004. Interview of Jean Rouch by Robert Gardner. As a filmmaker, Rouch left a legacy of more than 120 films. His half century of ethnographic filmmaking in Africa distinguished him as a master of the documentary form. Jean Rouch appeared on Screening Room in July 1980 and screened Les Maitres Fous as well as several film excerpts including Rhythm of Work and Death of a Priest.

Jungle secrets  = Segredos de mata / Centro de Trabalho Indigenista ; direction and images, Dominique Gallois, Vincent Carelli ; Waiãpi translation and adaptation, Dominique Gallois, 2007. Waiãpi stories of ancestors and forest monsters are acted by tribe members who intend the videos to be shown to other Indians to make them beware of threats from outside forces, such as white men, to their lives and traditions.

A Kalahari family / Kalfam Productions, Inc., c2002. In 1951, Laurence and Lorna Marshall and their two children, Elizabeth and John, set out to find the Bushmen of the Kalahari Desert. Their aim was to study and document their life and culture. While in Nyae Nyae, the Marshall family documented everyday life as well as unusual events and activities, producing a massive body of work that continues to define the fields of anthropology and ethnographic filmmaking today. Encapsulating 50 years of Namibian history, A Kalahari Family represents a lifetime of documentation, research, and personal contact by filmmaker John Marshall.

Kau faito`o  = Traditional healers of Tonga / director, Melinda Ostraff ; producers, Melinda Ostraff ... [et al.] ; writers, Michael Van Wagenen ... [et al.], c2005. "Shows the ancient traditional art form of healing, but tries to capture the essence of being a traditional healer in an ever changing environment. Traditional healers are shown collecting, preparing and administering herbal remedies that they have passed down from generation to generation. Healers discuss where, why and how they gained their knowledge and why they choose to carry on age old customs and practices despite [t]he fact that Tonga is becoming a nation increasingly dependent on western medicine"--Case.

Kiarãsâ yõ sâti  = The agouti's peanut / Associação Lakiô and Video nas Aldeias present ; direction and camera, Komoi Panará, Paturi Panar, 2007. Produced during two "Video in the Villages" workshops in the Panará village of Nasepotiti, in the state of Mato Grosso, Brazil. The Panará of the village are shown going about their daily activities: hunting, fishing, weaving, harvesting peanuts, cooking, dancing, playing soccer.

Kinja Iakaha : a day in the village / Waimiri Atroari, Video in the Villages present ; direction and camera, Araduwá Waimiri, ... [et al] ; production, PWA, Programa Waimiri Atroari, Vídeo nas Aldeia, 2007.  Six indians of different Waimiri and Atroari villages, located in the Amazon, document the day-to-day life of their relatives in the Cacau vilage. These images, stitched together ... transport us to intimate scenes of their lifestyle and their intense relationship with nature.

Kuo hina e hiapo  = The mulberry is white and ready for harvest / produced by Joseph Ostraff and Melinda Ostraff ; written by Joseph Ostraff, Melinda Ostraff, Michael Van Wagenen, 2005, c2001. "Investigates the highly collaborative process of making ngatu and the organizations of women who carry on with the tradition. Tapa cloth or ngatu as it is called in Tonga, is cloth made from the bark of the mulberry tree."--Container.

Leaving Bakul Bagan / a film by Sandeep Bushan Ray, 1994. A cinema-verite portrayal of Saborna Roychowdhury, a 21-year-old resident of Bakul Bagan Road, Calcutta, and her family, as she prepares to leave for higher education in the United States.

Loving Krishna / a film by Allen Moore and Ákos Östör ; producers, Robert Gardner, Ákos Östör for the Film Study Center, Harvard University, c2005. Aspects of the life of the god Krishna are celebrated in many ways. This film shows how the Bengali people in the town of Vishnupur worship Krishna. The film features interviews and religious music.

Marangmotxíngmo mïrang: from the Ikpeng children to the world / directors, Natuyu Yuwipo Txicão, Kumaré Txicão, Karané Txicão ; Video nas Aldeias, 2007. Four Ikpeng children introduce their village by answering a video-letter sent from children of Cuba's Sierra Maestra. They show their families, their toys, their celebrations, and their way of life with grace and lightheartedness. Curious about children from other cultures, they hope that their video-letter will be answered.

The medium is the masseuse: a Balinese massage ; Jero Tapakan, stories in the life of a Balinese healer / [films] by Timothy Asch, Linda Connor, Patsy Asch ; Documentary Education Resources, 2005. Contains two short ethnographic films about the Balinese healer named Jero Tapakan.

Morayngava: the design of things / produced by CTI (Projeto vídeo nas Aldeias) ; UNICAMP (Instituto de Artes), 2007. Documentary of the Shaman ceremony of the Asurini people of Brazil.

Morning with Asch / by Jayasinhji Jhala and Lindsey Powell, 2006, 1995. Jhala, professor of Anthropology at Temple University, interviews filmmaker, educator and visual anthropologist, Timothy Asch, in his Los Angeles home. Asch, expresses his views on his life and work and reveals intimate perspectives on confronting his death from cancer. Excerpts from Asch's films representing his groundbreaking fieldwork with the Yanomamo and the indigenous peoples of Indonesia are woven into the dialogue.

Musafir / directed by Pierre-Yves Perez and Cedric Dupire ; produced by Shai Productions, c2007.  Musafir is the name given to a group of folk musicians from different castes and religions in Rajasthan, India.... The documentary features the journey of the musical group through three stages - their training session in Jaipur, the story of each musician's life, and finally, the group's tour of Europe.

N!ai, the story of a !Kung woman / Documentary Educational Resources, inc. and Public Broadcasting Associates, inc. ; by John Marshall, Adrienne Meismer, and Sue M. Cabezas, 1980. A compilation of footage of the !Kung people of Namibia from 1951 through 1978. Focuses on the changes in the life of these people as seen through the reflections of one woman, N!ai.

N/um tchai: the ceremonial dance of the !Kung Bushmen / a film from the Bushman Film Studios of John Marshall ; Lawrence K. Marshall, 1969. Documents a formalized Bushman curing ceremony in the Kalahari Desert area of South West Africa by showing an all-night n/um tchai (medicine dance) in which a number of men go into trance and exercise special curing powers. Divided into two parts: the first reviews and explains typical dance scenes; the second shows the ceremony without narration.

Navkalevar / script, sound & direction, Prithwiraj Misra ; a Prithvi Films production, c2006. Every 19 years, the wooden idols used in the Jagannath Rathayatra festival must be replaced by freshly-carved statues. This film provides a behind-the-scenes look at this highly-ritualized Hindu ceremony, known as Navkalevar.

New World monkeys / by Anne Zeller ; University of Waterloo, [2005], c2003.  "This program is designed to introduce Primatology students to the range of monkeys of the Super family Ceboidea originating from Central and South America. Material on twenty-two species is included, covering all five of the families recently defined by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature. Some material was taped in the wild, while other species were observed in semi-free ranging and caged locations."--Container.

Nguné Elü: the day the moon menstruated / Associação Indigena Kuikuro do Alto Xingu, Video in the Villages, Núcleo Transformações Indigena-Museu Nacional present ; a video by Takumã Kuikuro, Maricá Kuikuro, 2007. Produced during a Video in the Villages workshop in the Kuikuro village of Ipatse (Indigenous Park of Xingu, Brazil). When an eclipse takes place during the workshop, the villagers explain in their own words what happens during an eclipse, when moon menstruates, and about the celebrations and rituals that take place. The post-eclipse ceremonies include singing, dancing, vomiting, wrestling, and sacrificial rituals.

On the spring ice / produced by Leonard Kamerling ; directed by Sarah Elder, Leonard Kamerling, 2006.  Examines life in a contemporary Eskimo village focusing on the people's relationship with the surrounding ice.

One precept / a film by Stephen Flood ; associate producer, Robin Lee Adams, 1995.  "Shot primarily at the Rinzai-Ji temple in Los Angeles, One precept documents traditional Zen Buddhism in America today. In a personal, often poetic portrayal, the story introduces a zen priest named Seiju who discusses the principles of the practice, the growing popularity of zen, and his seventeen years as a disciple of one of its oldest living masters, Kyozan Joshuy Sasaki"--Container.

Ordinary lives / produced and directed by Sheetal S. Agarwal, c2006. Uncovers the living conditions of residents in a slum in Mumbai, focusing closely on the daily struggles of one joint family with ten members of three generations crammed in a 180-square-foot shack. Through a juxtaposition of voices from both inside and outside the slums, the film re-examines issues such as poverty, human rights, and gender equality that have been troubling India and other developing countries.

Passing through my mother-in-law's village = [Chuan guo pojiacun] / by Ha [i.e., Hu] Tai-li, [2006], c1997. "The East-West Highway was soon to be built in central Taiwan. It would pass through the village of Liu Ts'o, and many homes and rice paddies would be destroyed. The film maker Hu Tai-Li went back to her mother-in-law's village Liu Ts'o, where she did anthropological research from 1976-78, to preserve some images of life forever. During the annual two harvests, various activities in daily life and festivals were presented in the film reflecting the villagers' attitudes towards gods, ghosts, ancestors, women, farmlands, urbanization, industrialization, reclamation and resettlement. The film maker attempted to reveal the Taiwanese way of facing drastic social changes."--Container.

Pemp / Centro de Trabalho Indigenista ; realization Projeto Video nas Aldeia, 2007. Documents the recent history of the Gavião tribe in the eastern Amazon. In the 60's, the Gavião were widely considered so decimated by contact that their continued survival as a group was impossible. As the video shows, the group has not only survived, but has pioneered some approaches to living on the interface with Brazilian culture. Shows how these people have reclaimed their land and much of their tribal culture with the help of video technology.

The rainy season / participation, Isaac Pianko Ashaninka ... [et al.] ; professors, Mari Corrêa, Vincent Carelli, 2007.  A documentary on daily life during the rainy season in an Ashaninka village in the Brazilian state of Acre, made by Ashaninka filmmakers.

Rajput paintings, whose paintings? / produced by Lindsey Powell ; video maker, ethnographer and Rajput, Jayasinhji Jhala, 2006. "Whose paintings?" takes an ethnographic approach to recording an encounter between Alwin Belak, a Russian Jewish American collector of Rajput miniature paintings from India of the 16th-19th century, and Jayasinhji Jhala, a Rajput visual anthropologist from India teaching at Temple University in Philadelphia. Part confrontation and part collaboration, the event of viewing these paintings in an affluent Philadelphia apartment demonstrates the different points of view used by the two protagonists to engage with these cultural treasures.

Rebekah & Sophie: a lesbian family, an ethnographic portrait / Jay Ruby, c2005. One of a series of CD-ROMs using an interactive mix of text and video to explore life in Oak Park, Ill. This CD-ROM introduces us to Rebekah Levin and Sophie Kaluzak, a middle-class lesbian couple raising a family.

The reindeer queen: the story of Sinrock Mary / writer/producer, Maria Brooks, 2005.  Using rare archival photographs, film footage and the shared memories of her granddaughters, this film tells the story of Sinrock Mary, who became the translator for Captain Mike Healy of the ship "Bear," which transported the first Siberian reindeer to Alaska. Through this relationship, Mary became the owner of the largest reindeer herd in the north and the wealthiest woman in the territory.

Remembering John Marshall / a film by Alice Apley & David Tamés, [c2006]. A portrait of filmmaker and activist John Kennedy Marshall who began his career in the 1950s documenting the lives of the Ju/'hoansi people of Namibia - among the last remaining hunter-gatherers - for anthropological audiences. In the 1980s Marshall became an activist helping the Ju/'hoansi fight for land and water rights. He made important contributions to cinéma vérité filmmaking and leaves behind an extensive ethnographic film archive including over 20 films on the Ju'/hoansi. Features interviews with Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, Robert Gordon, Alexandra Eliot Marshall, Cynthia Close, Sandeep Ray, Karma Foley, Jayasinhji Jhala, and Rakhi Jhala.

The return of gods and ancestors: the five year ceremony / by Ha [sic] Tai-Li, [c2006]. The Return of Gods and Ancestors is the first locally made ethnographic film in Taiwan. Under extremely low budget, anthropologist Hu Tai-Li recorded with a hand-cranked Bell & Howell 16 mm camera the most magnificent five year ceremony in Paiwan tribe. The Paiwan people on the one hand expected to receive blessings of the gods and ancestors through piercing rattan balls with extended bamboo poles; on the other, they tried to prevent any harm caused by the evil spirits. During the filming processes, the competitive chiefs were stimulated to reveal the cultural structure in front of the camera. The Paiwan five year ceremony is not only the reunion of the dead and the alive, but the meeting of the old and the new.

Ricky Leacock / [WCVB-TV], c2005. From his first film Ricky Leacock has been obsessed with capturing on film the feeling of "being there," which has led him to technological innovations and breakthrough films that fueled the emerging "direct cinema" movement. In this interview Leacock demonstrated super-8 sync technology and screened excerpts from his films Republicans: the new breed, Queen of Apollo, and rare footage of Indira Ghandi.

Sastun / by Guido Verweyen, c2006. Sastun tells the story of American herbalist Rosita Arvigo, whose quest to explore the healing powers of plants led her to the rain forest of Belize where she befriended one of the last remaining Maya shamans, Don Elijio Panti.

Shaktima no veh = sacred play of Shaktima / film by Jayasinhji Jhala, 2006, 2005. The goddess Shaktima is the most popular goddess in the region of Saurashtra known as Jhalavad. This video presents the story of Shaktima as performed by the traditional Muslim Bhavai troupe led by Amrit Kalu Radatla of Kankavati village. Baisabgarh village sponsored this event on July 11, 2004.

Shomõtsi / directed and photographed by Valdete Pinhanta Ashenika ; Video nas Aldeias, 2007. A report on the day to day life of Shomõtsi, a Ashenika Indian living on the border of Brazil and Peru. Valdete, who is a teacher and one of the village video makers, features his hard-headed and witty uncle.

Sight unseen / a film by Nicholas Kurzon, [2005, c1996]. The images and people of Sanur, Bali are explored through the eyes of a Hindu priest and a local video cameraman, reflecting the Western influences converging with the traditional in modern Bali.

Signs don't speak / produced by Centro de Trabalho Indigenista ; directed by Dominique Gallois, Vincent Carelli, 2007. Show the initiatives of the Waiã Indians of Amapá. Brazil, under FUNAI supervision, to expel the gold prospectors whose invasion has harmed their environment. They work to establish new villages and seek outside assistance to establish the borders of their reservation.

Singing pictures: women painters of Naya / by Lina Fruzzetti, Ákos Östör, Aditi Nath Satkar, c2005. Documentary about an organized group of women scroll painters from the village of Naya, India, chronicling their lives and how they are adapting their art to reflect current social issues as well as traditional themes addressed in their scrolls. The women discuss the social, political and religious issues that inform their art and influence their daily lives, and how they are responding to the changing conditions in their communities.

Songs of pasta'ay  = Ai jen chi chih ko / by Hu Tai-li, 2006.  A study of the music, festivals and customs of the Saisiat, an Austronesian people of Taiwan.