Skip to main content

Criminal Justice

A Guide to Resources

Finding Data Using Advanced Library Search

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), of which Temple is a member, provides access to a vast archive of social science data sets, which Temple users can directly download. A wide range of topics are included:  Social Institutions and Behavior: (Economics, Education, Family, Community and Urban, Mass Political Behavior); Health Data, Organizational Data; and Government Structures and Policy. All data sets, a total of more than 6200, have been cataloged and can be searched for using Library Search, the library's online catalog. To locate a data set on a specific topic, do a keyword search in Library Search, using as your search terms 'ICPSR" and a subject term. For example, if you wanted to locate data about voting behavior, you would do a keyword search using 'ICPSR'and 'voting behavior' as your terms; this will produce a list of more than 2600 data records . To see a list of all ICPSR datasets in Library Search, click Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.

Statistics

Online databases:

Current Index to Statistics. "a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. The CIS Extended Database (CIS-ED) includes coverage, in most cases from 1974 (or first issue if later) to the present (currently, volumes published in 1997) from 106 "core journals" (and pre-1974 coverage for a number of them), selected articles since 1974 from about 900 additional journals, and about 8000 books in statistics published since 1974."

 

Death Penalty Information Center.

 

Federal Sources: American Statistics Index (ASI) 1973-

The U.S. Government is the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics. ASI indexes and abstracts statistical data published by all branches and agencies of the Federal Government, including both depository and non-depository publications. ASI includes federal agency publications that contain social, economic, demographic, or natural resources data, and a selection of publications with scientific and technical data.

 

State and Private Sector Sources: Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-

SRI identifies statistical data published by consumer and trade magazines, private organizations, state government agencies, business organizations, independent research organizations, and universities and affiliated research centers. Publications covered by SRI contain important statistics on business, industry and finance, general economic conditions, government programs and politics, and social trends. SRI offers access to national data, such as production, costs, and earnings in major industries; statewide data, such as statistics on crime, health, or employment; data on foreign countries, such as world economic and demographic trends; and local or narrowly focused data, such as detail by county and municipality.

Public Record Center. The most updated and largest online public and criminal records portal.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (iPOLL). "the most comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion available today."

See below for non-Temple online statistical resources:


Many volumes of statistics are shelved in the Paley Reference Stacks area. Some useful volumes in this area include:

Business Statistics of the United States: Patterns of Economic Change. Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, 1996- . Also Available Online.
Portrait of Health in the United States: Major Statistical Trends & Guide to Resources. Lanham, MD : Bernan, 2001. Also Available Online.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 1879-. Also Available Online.

Statistical Abstract of the World. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Inc., c1994-.
Year-book of labour statistics / International Labour Office. Geneva : The Office, 1936-
Yearbook of Tourism Statistics. Madrid : World Tourism Organization, c1986-


Some useful books in the general stacks:

Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide For the Social Sciences / W. Paul Vogt. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2005.

Finding Statistics Online: How to Locate the Elusive Numbers You Need / Paula Berinstein ; edited by Susanne Bjørner. Medford, NJ : Information Today, 1998.
International Encyclopedia of Statistics / edited by W. H. Kruskal and J. M. Tanur. New York : Free Press, c1978

Online Statistical Resources:

American Factfinder: data tabulations and maps from many U. S. Census Bureau sources for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. The book, Unlocking the Census with GIS by Alan Peters and Heather MacDonald, includes a detailed tutorial on using American FactFinder.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
County and City Data Books

Current Index to Statistics

DataPlace (by KnowPlex): a quick and easy resource for getting census tract data for any address in the United States.
FedStats: the gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies
Polling the Nations: the Ultimate Survey Database: A database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world from 1986 to the present. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses.
Social Science Data on the Internet

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Stat-USA
U. S. Census Bureau: the Official Statistics