Skip to main content

History and Significance of Race in America: AAAS 0829 / HIS 0829 / SOC 0829 / Pol Sci 0829

Finding Films at Temple

Temple University faculty and students have access to two large video and DVD collections: 1) the CLA Ed Tech Center collection located in AL-21 Anderson Hall , and 2) the Paley Library collection, located in Media Services on the ground floor of Paley Library.

The CLA ED Tech Center collection is a teaching resource for faculty and TAs; faculty and TAs are permitted to checkout video, audio, and slide resources or place them on reserve for classes. Students are not permitted to checkout materials but may view visual materials related to their coursework in selected study spaces at the Center. 

The Paley Library collection now contains more than 10,000 films. Materials from the collection should be asked for at the Media Services Desk on the ground floor of Paley, and can be checked out by anyone with a Temple ID for a period of 7 days, if the film has not been placed on reserve for classes. All videos and DVDs from both collections are listed in Library Search (formerly DIAMOND). Videos or DVDs in either collection can be located by title, or by using the keyword search option by selecting the MEDIA tab on the main library website.

If you need a film or would like to request the purchase of a film for the Paley Library Film Collection, please send an email with information about the film to the Subject Specialist, Gregory McKinney.

Films on Demand

 

Films on Demand is a database of more than 5,000 educational films across all disciplines from Films Media Group. Temple users can search and view films or specific segments of films. By establishing a user account from within Films on Demand users can also create playlists from the various films/segments for their own use or for sharing with other Temple users.

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. This first release includes 404 videos totaling roughly 270 hours. More»