Research Guides: History and Significance of Race in America: AAAS 0829 / HIS 0829 / SOC 0829 / Pol Sci 0829: Database articles

Multi-Disciplinary Database

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online contains Full text online journals from Cambridge University Press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of ebooks, ebook chapters, and back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to current publication. It also offers millions of high-quality ArtStor images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Library Search is your gateway to discover books, journal articles, and much more at Temple University Libraries. Additional information can be found in our Library Search FAQ's.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Journals Online is a collection of academic and research journals that cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online includes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online.

Subject Specific Databases

Anthropology:

Anthropology Plus [via EbscoHost] This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
A fulltext database providing online access to current and past journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). For Physical and Biological Anthropology

Biology / Health:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.

Business/Economics:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains 2,804 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the worldwide literature on economics from over 300 major economic journals, books, and collective volumes.

Criminal Justice:

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Proquest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index covers approximately 250 U.S. and international criminal justice journals, many in full-text.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts [via ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Document Data Base contains summaries of publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. The time period covered is from the early 1970's to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Criminology and International Law This link opens in a new window
Note: Temple subscribes to two OBO subject bibliographies: Criminology and International Law. Find these under the Browse by Subject menu.
Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, directing researchers to the best available scholarship.

Education:

ERIC [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present.
ERIC [via U.S. Department of Education] This link opens in a new window
ERIC [via U.S. Department of Education] is a Web-based digital library of free education-related sources and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection also includes full-texts of articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
Education Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Education Journals provides access to educational publications. It also contains literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education.

History:

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Note: This is an upgrade from America: History & Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes citations of books and media reviews from a selection of journals in US and Canadian history and related fields, as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes journals in the social and humanities sciences, covering 1953-present.
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints, this resource has not been renewed as of 12/31/2023.
Oral History Online is a comprehensive online index of oral history collections in English, with access to full text, audio, video, or bibliographic citations for oral history collections from all over the world. The narratives cover subjects from the late 19th Century to present, including civil rights and race relations, labor history, African American history, women's history, immigration studies, political history, American Indian history, regional history, and more.

Popular Culture:

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text contains articles from magazine for film, television and cinema reviews. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index) provides indexing, abstracts and full text journals on dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater and performance art.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is a database of citations to critical documents on folklore, language, linguistics, and literature, including articles from journals, monographs, collections & reference works.
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Music Index Online contains indexing and abstracts for every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological and organological topics, as well as book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from 1976 to the present. Some backfile data from the period 1962-1975 is also included.

Political Science and Policy:

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
YouTube tutorials
PAIS covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
Proquest Political Science contains full text journals in political science and related fields.

Psychology:

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a full-text ejournal collection from the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Sociology:

ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides coverage of the world's literature on sociology and applied aspects of sociology.

Primary Sources

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories includes personal narratives, autobiographies, oral histories, and several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. In selected cases, users can choose to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants or view images of their scrapbooks.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Includes the personal experiences of women writing from Colonial times to 1950; represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous.
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
Early Encounters in North America contains documents on relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides perspectives from all of the protagonists.

Ethnic Databases

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
The African American Experience (AAE) provides full-text reference works from Greenwood Publishing. (AAE) includes interviews with former slaves from the WPA Slave Narratives Project. Documents, audio clips, photographs, from Negro University Press titles are also included.
Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Black Historical Newspapers contains primary source material from American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. It covers the periods from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 12
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index(HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Periodicals Index provides bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. The coverage includes political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.