Skip to Main Content

University Libraries

Women in U.S. History: HIST/GSWS 3225

Library Research Tutorials

The libraries have created a number of tutorials to learn more about conducting research. Check out Database Basics and Citations Overview to get started.

Contact me if you have any suggestions of new tutorials that would be useful to history students!

Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Includes a helpful Quick Guide. Use the "Notes and Bibliography Style" if you are using footnotes or endnotes.

The Online Writing Lab of Purdue University has created a Short-hand guide to the Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.), which is very useful, despite the advertisements now on the page.

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Need help creating annotated bibliographies? Below are a few sources that help explain what should be included in the annotations:

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography by Temple's Writing Center
Annotated Bibliographies by The Writing Center at University of Wisconsin-Madison
Writing an Annotated Bibliography (includes sample phrases and terms) from University of Toronto
Annotated Bibliographies by The Online Writing Center at Purdue University

Good Annotations

A good annotation summarizes and evaluates each source. A good annotation does the following:

summarizes the content of the source
evaluate the usefulness of the source
discusses the writer's background/credibility
draws connections between the source content and the student's research topic
begins with a properly formatted citation

Last Updated: Mar 11, 2024 1:15 PM
URL: https://guides.temple.edu/womenshistory
Print Page

Subjects: History