Research Guides: Athletic Training: Databases & Articles

Top Databases

Use these databases to find citations, click the Temple Full Text icon to access the complete article.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) provides citation information and abstracts to journal articles about physical education and related disciplines (sports, sports medicine, dance, coaching, fitness, motor learning, etc.)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 8
SPORT Discus is a full text international sports database which covers the fields of exercise, medicine, biomechanics, coaching and sports medicine.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection contains international literature in public health.

Other Useful Databases

PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 33,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality using the PEDro scale.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Provides indexing for nursing and health journals. The database contains records dating back to 1972. In addition, the database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, and selected conference proceedings.
CINAHL Abstracting and Indexing Database
Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. CINAHL also includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,446 active global OA journals.  Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Subject Headings
CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Content Includes
3,814 active indexed and abstracted journals
3,461 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
1,312 journals with searchable cited references
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library contains systematic reviews and clinical trials to help inform healthcare decision-making.

SportRxiv
SportRχiv is the first community-led and open access subject repository dedicated to sport, exercise, performance, and health research. Please note that these articles may not be peer-reviewed.

Clinical Tools

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Dyna Med provides access to evidence-based medical information, and includes topics of: diseases, disorders, symptoms, etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources.
Dynamic Health This link opens in a new window
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
NatMed (formerly Natural Medicines) provides evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) is a resource on information for point-of-care drug and clinical information.

Sports & Business Databases

SMA Sport Market Analytics (formerly SBRNet) This link opens in a new window
SMA provides a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry -- sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
SportBusiness This link opens in a new window
SportBusiness includes access to SportBusiness International, Knowledge Centre, and Sports Sponsorship Insider. They provide articles, analysis, news, and data reports related to the global sports market.

BrowZine for Athletic Training Journals

BrowZine Web This link opens in a new window
BrowZine contains articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, and then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. This is a way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
BrowZine for iPad This link opens in a new window
BrowZine for Android
Note: Use the correct link to download this app to your tablet. Then select Temple University from the 'Choose Library' menu, and log in with your AccessNet ID.
BrowZine contains articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, and then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. This is a way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu