Skip to Main Content
The TU Library Databases are your "go-to" place to find scholarly journal articles, as well as information in other formats (newspapers, magazines, media).
Search across ALL Temple University library databases for articles:
HINT - On the results screen, limit your search results to "peer reviewed" (scholarly), by resource type (i.e. magazine, newspaper, or journal article), or by date of publication.
Another option is to directly search within a specific database, rather than doing a broad search across all TU library resources. Searching within a specific database can often produce more relevant results, based on the targeted scope of that database. Temple University subscribes to over 1,000 databases. You can view the list of all TU databases on the Find a Database page.
Here are some "Best Bet" databases covering a wide range of topics.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic One File provides full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. This database contains articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports across all major subject areas.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to quantitative facts by market sector, encompassing agriculture, finance, and politics, and others. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
The TU libraries also subscribe to many specialized databases. Below are some for the areas of Education and Psychology.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections This link opens in a new window
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections contains a collection of resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education.
Education Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Education Journals provides access to educational publications. It also contains literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides a full-text collection of education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks. It covers all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present.
View all Temple University Databases on the subject of "Education" on the Find a Database page.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including Education.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides a guide to contemporary testing instruments and contains information for evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, and leadership.
Concurrent user limit: 4
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
View all Temple University Databases on the subject of "Psychology" on the Find a Database page.
Find Articles Using a Citation
If you have a citation for an article, you can do a Journal Finder search to see if the TU Library has a subscription to the magazine, newspaper or journal that the article was published in.
Once in Journal Finder, enter the title of the magazine, newspaper or journal that the article was published in to see if TU has a subscription. Once found, you will locate the issue and date that the article was published.
You can also search for individual journal titles to just to browse.
Pro Research Tip
Search Temple’s databases with Google Scholar, instead of from the library web site, to find freely available scholarly articles provided by the Temple University Library and the rest of the internet. Just follow these Google Scholar Set-up Instructions, then enter your key words in the Google Scholar search box.
- Look for articles that say Temple U next to them. These are the articles that only you (as a Temple student) can access for free.
- Other sources that say PDF, or similar, on the right side of the article are full text articles that anyone can access for free.
- Some sources will not show anything on the right of the article. Those are typically not available in full text for free.
Do not pay to access these! if you really think you need to article, contact the library to see if they can find a free version for you.
Temple University Japan Campus Library 1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811 Email: email@example.com Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library