Articles - Legal Studies - Law & American Society - Research Guides at Temple University

Library Databases

When you're looking for credible information, library databases are your "go-to" place. These database subscriptions provide access to millions of articles published in newspaper, magazine and scholarly journals.

Recommended Specialized Databases

CQ Press Library (formerly CQ Political Reference Suite) This link opens in a new window
CQ Press Library (formerly CQ Political Reference Suite) is a reference title resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is an online product with pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides coverage from law and law-related periodicals. It also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
NexisUni (formerly Lexis Nexis) offers full-text access to content from more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources.

View all library databases related to law and legal studies

Search for Articles

Search ALL Temple University library databases for journal, magazine and newspaper articles:

HINT - On the results screen, limit your search results to "peer reviewed" (scholarly), by resource type (i.e. magazine, newspaper, or journal article), or by date of publication.

Pro Research Tip

Search Temple’s databases from Google Scholar, instead of from the library web site, to find freely available scholarly articles available via the Temple University library and the internet. Just follow these Google Scholar Set-up Instructions, then enter your key words in the Google Scholar search box.

Look for articles that say Temple U next to them. These are the articles that only you (as a Temple student) can access for free.
Other sources that say PDF, or similar, on the right side of the article are full text articles that anyone can access for free.
Some sources will not show anything on the right of the article. Those are typically not available in full text for free.
Do not pay to access these! if you really think you need to article, contact the library to see if they can find a free version for you.