Research Guides: Tokyo Studies: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

For statistics on city population, economics, and more we recommend these databases in addition to other web resources in the Global Cities LibGuide (link towards the bottom).

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to quantitative facts by market sector, encompassing agriculture, finance, and politics, and others. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights Global is online resource on international business. It contains economic and statistical data that combines an international perspective and research tools with access to learning materials.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a source of videos and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films on Demand combines : Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Meiji Japan This link opens in a new window
Meji Japan includes the Edward Sylvester Morse papers (ca. 1858-1925), and covers malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. The collection offers diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials.
Foreign Office Files for Japan (1931-1952) This link opens in a new window
Foreign Office Files for Japan includes two British Foreign Office files collections: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific (1931-1945) and Occupation of Japan (1946-1952).

Global City Comparison Metrics and Reports

Kearney Global Cities Report
Report by a global consulting firm that summarizes two annual rankings: Global Cities Index (GCI), a metric based on business activity, human capital, information exchange, cultural experience, and political engagement. Global Cities Outlook (GCO), a indicator of a city's potential based on personal well-being, economics, innovation, and governance. See their archive for past Global Cities Reports.
World Happiness Report: Cities and Happiness
The theme and contents of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network's World Happiness Report change from year to year, but the 2020 report included a chapter on cities ranked by happiness.

Related LibGuides

Tokyo Libraries and Bookstores
by Drew Damron Last Updated Sep 9, 2024 31 views this year

Cities - Geography, Population, Economy, History
by Rick Lezenby Last Updated Jun 11, 2024 187 views this year

Global Cities: GUS 0831
by Olivia Given Castello Last Updated Dec 20, 2024 5351 views this year