Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection: Manuscripts and Archives - Finding Aids

Selected Collections

The primary source materials of the manuscripts component of the Collection include the principal papers of Father Paul Washington, Samuel L. Evans, Grover Washington, Jr., Dr. R.R. Wright, Natalie Hinderas and Dr. Ruth Wright Hayre, as well as personal papers of William Still.

Also included are:

The Paul Robeson Collection containing sheet music, photographs, posters and ephemera. The Rhythm Brown Collection includes photographs, business records, and correspondence.

The Prints and Photographs Collection including prints and Black film posters, as well as photographs and prints of African-American Civil rights leaders, religious leaders, artists, entertainers and scholars.

Images of African-American associations and organizations are also included. This section also houses the John Mosley Photograph Collection which contains over 500,000 photographs, prints and negatives which provide a visual history of notable black entertainers, Negro Baseball League players, Penn Relays, social and political personalities and the general social life of Pennsylvania.
 

Alpha Boule Chapter, Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity Collection

Allen Ballard Collection

Dr. Charles Edward Thomas Collection

Father Paul M. Washington Papers

Grover Washington, Jr. Papers

Hiliary H. Holloway Collection, 1947-2000

Ivy Leaf School Collection

Marion Turner Stubbs

Mazie B. Hall Collection

Muriel Feelings Collection

Natalie Hinderas Collection

Philadelphia Educators to Africa

Reverend John L. Link Collection, 1923-1963

Ruth Wright Hayre Collection

Samuel L. Evans Papers 

St. Peter Claver Roman Catholic Church Records

 

 

See Also

Special Collections Research Center (Temple University Libraries)