Colonial & Modern Latin American History Resources

Find library resources on Colonial & Modern Latin America

Find Books

Library Search: Books This link opens in a new window
Use Library Search to find print books and e-books owned by Temple University Libraries. Search by author, title, subject, or keyword.

Charles Library Book Locations

BookBot: Place request online and pick up on the first floor, behind the One Stop Assistance Desk
Stacks (4th floor): On the 4th floor of Charles Library, organized by call number.
Remote Storage: Place request online. Typically takes 24 hours to be retrieved. Pick up at One Stop Desk.

Books From Other Libraries

If Temple does not own the book, you can request it from another library via E-Z Borrow or ILLiad.

PALCI E-ZBorrow
Available copies may be requested online directly from the owning library and should be ready for pick-up in 3-5 days.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search items owned by libraries around the world and request via ILLiad

Databases for Academic Book Reviews

The core history journal databases —

America: History & Life for reviews of books written about the Western Hemisphere;
Historical Abstracts for reviews of books written about the Eastern Hemisphere;
JSTOR for reviews of history books with an imprint more than a few years old;
and ProjectMUSE for reviews of books published in the last several years —

These databases cover, in addition to book reviews, scholarly journal articles, dissertations, editorials, and speeches, so be sure to limit your search to "Book Review" in both America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts, and to "Reviews" in JSTOR. You might try searching for the keywords "book" AND "review" in separate search boxes, or enter the phrase "review article" into a single search box.

The following are dedicated book review databases:

Library Search This link opens in a new window
Search for the name of a book. Select the "Article" box. Then use the "Resource Type" filter and select "Review" to limit to book reviews.
Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Book Review Index Online includes records for reviews published in scholarly journals. Reviews written in such publications do the best job of situating monographs within wider historiographical debates.

H-Net Book Reviews
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online is a good source for reviews of scholarly history books.

Background Sources

A Companion to Latin American History by Thomas H. Holloway (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781405131612
Publication Date: 2008-01-22
The Cambridge History of Latin America, Vol. 1 Colonial Latin America by Leslie Bethell (Editor, Contribution by)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780521232234
Publication Date: 1984-12-06
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Barbara A. Tenenbaum (Editor); Georgette M. Dorn (Editor)
Call Number: F1406.E53 1996
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
The Oxford Handbook of Latino Studies by Ilan Stavans
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2020-03-17

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2024 4:38 PM
URL: https://guides.temple.edu/coloniallatinamerica
Print Page

Subjects: History, Latin American Studies