Research Guides: Program Planning: SBS 3496/3596: Find Articles

Medline (Medical Focus)

MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) contains references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Provides indexing for nursing and health journals. The database contains records dating back to 1972. In addition, the database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, and selected conference proceedings.
CINAHL Abstracting and Indexing Database
Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. CINAHL also includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,446 active global OA journals.  Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Subject Headings
CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Content Includes
3,814 active indexed and abstracted journals
3,461 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
1,312 journals with searchable cited references

Social Science Focus

ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

Databases covering broad topics

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also includes access to EndNote Online.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.

Behavioral and Psychology Focus

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a full-text ejournal collection from the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.

Education Focus

ERIC [via U.S. Department of Education] This link opens in a new window
ERIC [via U.S. Department of Education] is a Web-based digital library of free education-related sources and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection also includes full-texts of articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides a full-text collection of education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks. It covers all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education.

Additional Specialized Databases

Temple University subscribes to hundreds of databases. Some are specific to certain subject areas and others cover a broad range. You can search by subject, name and more. A few are highlighted here but you can search the Databases tab on the library webpage(s) to find more.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 8
SPORT Discus is a full text international sports database which covers the fields of exercise, medicine, biomechanics, coaching and sports medicine.
HealthSTAR This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 30
HealthSTAR contains bibliographic records from MEDLINE (1975 to present) and CATLINE (1985 to present), and records from three sources: the American Hospital Association, the National Health Planning Information Center and NLM's National Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR).
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Health and Safety Science Abstracts Provides citations and abstracts to the literature on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. It also includes government reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and books to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu