Skip to main content

History

Guide to history research at Temple University Libraries

BOOKS: Primary-Source European History Databases

The following databases provide electronic reproductions of full-text primary-source books and other texts. See also the Find Books tab.

PERIODICALS: Primary-Source European History Databases

The following databases -- seven Temple-only, one open-access -- index and in most cases provide electronic reproductions of full-text primary source journals and newspapers.

GOV DOCS: Primary-Source European History Databases

These databases provide electronic reproductions of full-text primary-source documents that originated from the governments of the United Kingdom and other European countries.

EPHEMERA: Primary-Source European History Databases

The following Temple databases provide electronic reproductions of full-text primary-source documents including maps, letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs and other personal narratives. Many of these databases are relevant to the history of other parts of the world including Africa, the Americas, and Asia.

STILL IMAGES & VIDEO: Primary-Source European History Databases

Digital collections of still photographs and moving images...

More Options

The following TULibraries' databases and research tools will help users track down both paper and digital archives. The list includes links to digital collections, virtual exhibitions, and Temple's Special Collections Research Center (SCRC)

On this page...

EuroDocs

euro docs logo

EuroDocs is an online directory of primary documents in Western European history compiled by Richard Hacken, librarian at Brigham Young University.

Highly recommended.

 

Europeana

 

Europeana is a rich collection of digital primary source content from the archives of Europe.

U.K. National Archives

The National Archives of the United Kingdom (compare with NARA in the U.S.)

Online collection highlight: U.K. Cabinet Papers: 1915-1980

Gallica

Gallica logo

The Digital Library of the National Library of France (compare with American Memory, Library of Congress)

German Archives

French Revolution

French Revolution Image

Researching France or the effect of the French Revolution on other parts of the world? Check out the French Revolution Digital Archive, an open-access collaboration between Stanford University Libraries and Bibliothèque nationale de France.

NINES

NINES: Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online is "devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first."

Historical Maps