Geography and Urban Studies

Geography is central to the work of the Census Bureau, providing the framework for survey design, sample selection, data collection, tabulation, and dissemination.

electronic versions of 80 books - part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division.

a collection of recorded interviews conducted with hundreds of geographers from August 1970 until the mid-1980s, Includes an interview with Dr. Rickie Sanders, Temple University

Look up standard codes for areas grouped into common census geographic summary levels. Populations are shown in parentheses after each area on the list. All population data are from the 2014-2018 American Community Survey.
Most codes are linked to a page that lists multiple data sources for the selected area.

The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN). The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes, as well as non-Roman script spellings of many of these names. All the geographic features in the database contain information about location, administrative division, and quality. The database can be used for a variety of purposes, including establishing official spellings of foreign place names, cartography, GIS, GEOINT, and finding places.

As the Nation's largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency, USGS collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides science about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems.

an access point to all 50 State Gazetteers as well as the Washington, DC Gazetteer and our Gazetteer of Puerto Rico.

provides shared and trusted geospatial data, services, and applications for use by the public and by government agencies and partners to meet their mission needs.