Skip to main content
Sources by Subject
History of Caribbean Culture: AAS 1165
Search this Guide
History of Caribbean Culture: AAS 1165
Relational qualities of African-sage philosophy, the poeticist and narrative qualities of non-European thinking in Caribbean cultures.
Decolonization of the Caribbean
About primary sources
What are primary sources?
Why use primary sources?
A PDF file from the Library of Congress.
Web definitions of primary sources
A Google search
Primary Sources: Books
Search British books for the 15th to 18th centuries and American books from the 18th and 19th centuries.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
This collection of books, pamphlet, and broadsides is "the definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America."
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
This collection of books, pamphlet, and broadsides covers the early years of the United States of America.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
96,000 English books published between 1475-1640, from the first English book through through the age of Shakespeare and beyond.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Almost all the books published in Britain in the eighteenth century. Unspeakably vast.
Online Philosophy Texts
Detailed online texts of major philosophers, including works of the Rationalists (Hobbes- Descartes-Spinoza), the Empiricists (Locke-Berkeley-Hume), American philosophers like Dewey, and more
Penn Online Books Page: Search
Links to online books across the web.
One of the earliest and largest collections of great works on the web.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Contains almost all Greek language works (in original Greek) from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453. Examine just a single text, or search across the database.
Primary Sources: Newspapers
American and British historical newspapers from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800
The New York Times of 18th Century America.
African American Newspaper: 19th Century
Freedom's Journal; Colored American; North Star; National Era; Provincial Freeman; Frederick Douglass Paper; Christian Recorder
America's Historical Newspapers
Offers fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of more than one million pages from more than 650 historical American newspapers, focusing on titles published in the 18th century.
New York Times 1851-2003
Vast storehouse of information on people, places, events, and ideas.
London Times (1785-2014) [via Gale Times Digital Archive]
Find out a British point-of-view on French Revolution, Bonaparte, War of 1812, American slavery and Civil War, and thousands of other topics up to recent times.
Wall Street Journal Full-Text / Full-Image (1889-2001) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers]
America's most important business newspaper. Read commentary on the growth and development of the US economy as it was happening.
Primary Sources: Journals and Magazines
Two vast collections of American and British scholarly and popular periodicals from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
American Periodicals Series Online
Scholarly journals and popular magazines from the mid 1750's America up to and in some cases beyond 1900. Keep an open mind: these publications did not serve the exact same purpose as they do today.
British Periodicals Online
"British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond."
Primary Sources: Mixed
Black Thought and Culture
"Landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America."
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Started by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen, contains "monographs and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights."
In the First Person
First-person narratives in English from around the world.
Oral History Online
English language oral histories in print (with some links to audio clips).
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Scholar's Edition)
"Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities and examines perspectives on women’s social movements from Colonial times to the present."
May 10, 2021 10:49 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a broken link or other problem
african american studies
See all library locations
Locations and Directions
Frequently Called Numbers