Research Guides: Occupational Therapy: Find Articles

Literature Searching

Searches in these databases provide article citations and abstracts, and sometimes the full text as either a PDF or HTML. When the full text is not directly linked, look for the Find Full Text icon next to each abstract, which leads to the full-text article elsewhere in another database.

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a full-text ejournal collection from the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to allied health, nursing and core OT journals, and select conference proceedings.
CINAHL Abstracting and Indexing Database
Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. CINAHL also includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,446 active global OA journals.  Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Subject Headings
CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Content Includes
3,814 active indexed and abstracted journals
3,461 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
1,312 journals with searchable cited references
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides a full-text collection of education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks. It covers all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 5
HaPI is a bibliographic database produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, and is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. It provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection contains international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.

Other Relevant Databases

CommonHealth
A journal of the College of Public Health at Temple University

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Dynamic Health This link opens in a new window
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General One File is a source for news, magazines, and periodical articles across a wide range of general topics and academic disciplines.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Life provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.

Searching for a Journal by Title

Journal Finder
Use this to search for all Temple University journals and periodicals (including magazine & newspaper holdings), many of which have free online open access. You can type in a specific journal name or ISSN number or else enter a Subject Term or Keyword.

Henry Stewart Talks Video Lectures

HSTalks This link opens in a new window
Topics by various guest speakers cover history, diagnosis, neurobiology, treatment and outcome issues. Part of the Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection. You can search by Keyword. One very rich series of videos cover Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorder. See below.