Nursing

A citation manager is a program used to store, organize, share, and output citations. Some citation managers have the added functionality of an academic social network. Once the citation information is stored in the citation manager, it can be output in many different styles, like MLA, APA, Chicago, or others. It saves the writer/researcher from having to type out the same citation and bibliography over and over again by hand.

Citation managers make it easy to:

• Gather citations from databases and websites
• Edit, organize, and search citations
• Output citations in many formats (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.)

Citation managers integrate with word-processing programs for inputting in-text citations and generating the corresponding bibliographies.

A citation manager is a valuable time-saving tool for researchers and anyone writing a paper with cited references/bibliographies.

Temple supports EndNote/EndNote Web, Mendeley, and Zotero. In addition to these, there are many other citation managers available for free or for purchase.

Every Temple student, faculty, or staff can sign up for a free account on EndNote Online. Connect to the database Web of Science by logging in with your TU AccessNet ID and password. Then Register for a free individual account.

Once you have registered, sign in to your individual account and click on the Products menu in the upper right corner and select EndNote to access EndNote Online.

Already have an EndNote Online account? Log in!

Create a free Mendeley account

Downloads:
Mendeley Desktop (legacy, not compatible with recent Mac OSX)
Mendeley Reference Manager (newer desktop version)

• The desktop application syncs your references and PDFs to the Mendeley web site. You can also store research data on the Mendeley web site.
• Mendeley has mobile apps for iOS and Android devices. You can sync across devices.
• Use Mendeley Groups to collaborate publicly or privately with colleagues and friends.
• Mendeley offers a basic (free) and subscription account. The subscription account offers more features and storage capacity.
• Temple University does NOT currently have an institutional subscription to Menedeley.

In Mendeley Desktop or Mendeley Reference Manager, install the Web Importer and MS Word Plugin under the Tools menu.

• Web Importer downloads citations and PDFs (with some restrictions) from research databases
• Mendeley Cite is a MS Word Plugin integrates Mendeley citation management with Word

Register for an Online Account
Upload your local Zotero database to the Zotero website and sync citations across multiple computers.

Download Zotero and Zotero Connector
Zotero is now a desktop application that downloads to your computer. In addition, there is a browser plugin - the Zotero Connector - that works with Firefox, Chrome, and Safari to simplify importing from the Web.

Sync your Zotero Account
Set up your Zotero software to sync your Zotero library to the cloud at zotero.org

Word Processor Plugins
Zotero integrates with Google Docs, MS Word and LibreOffice to insert in-text citations and create bibliographies. These plugins should install with the Zotero software and the browser plugin.

Set Up OpenURL for Linking
Go to Zotero Preferences to set this up.

Find More Zotero Plugins
Browse a long list of third party plugins.

Install Additional Styles
Zotero ships with several popular citation styles. You can install over 8,100 additional styles from the Zotero Style Repository.