Skip to Main Content

Dissent in America: HIST 0849/0949

Library resources that support the History sections of Dissent in America, a GenEd course developed by history professor Ralph Young

Primary-Source Collection Databases

The following databases include full-text primary source documents including letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs and other personal narratives, as well as government documents. Note that some of the resources also include secondary source and background material in addition to the primary source documents.

African American History:

Women's History:

More Letters and Oral Histories:

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Library of Congress Logo

No search for primary-source materials is complete without a visit to the Library of Congress's Digital Collections. This vast collection can be keyword searched or browsed by topic, time period, or media types that include manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, photos, video recordings, and more.

Explore a map and timeline of the Library of Congress' Chronicling America Newspapers collection.

Urban Archives

Located on the first floor of Charles Library, the Urban Archives component of Temple University's Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) houses the Evening Bulletin and several other important Philadelphia newspaper "clippings collections," as well as a range of archival materials, critical to the study of the late nineteenth and twentieth century history of the Delaware Valley. 

Students looking to find dissent-related primary source documents from Philadelphia are highly encouraged to visit the SCRC.