Research Guides: Landscape Architecture: Find articles

Key Databases for finding articles

These are the major databases where you should begin your research. The databases listed below are the core titles in your disciplinary studies.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals contains journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
Art & Architecture Source (formerly Art Source) This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source contains full-text and abstracts of Arts and Architecture journals, books, and other publications from 1921 forward. It includes periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
Design & Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Design & Applied Arts Index provides abstracts and bibliographic records from articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index contains articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A strong general database providing indexing in almost every academic area of study, and covers from 1865 - present.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
BuildingGreen offers a guide to green product listings, articles about green buildings and sustainable design, project case studies, full text access to the Environmental Building News archive, and information about codes and standards like LEED, WELL, and Fitwel.

Additional Databases

The following databases might prove useful in your research. Some databases are much more subject specific in their coverage, some include information from online reference resources, and some cover more general areas of study, but depending on your project or paper might be just what you need!

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) contains arts, humanities, and social science journals. A&HCI provides information and data from 1975 to the present.
Nature Publishing Group This link opens in a new window
This is the platform which provides access to the publishing output of the Nature Publishing Group. Our online access includes the content of research papers up to two months before they are published in print.
Grove Art Online [via Oxford Art Online] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 11
Grove Art Online [via Oxford Art Online] provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001).
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 11
Oxford Art Online covers all aspects of visual art and contains articles, images, artist biographies and reference resource entries. It includes Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Your Ambler Librarian

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu