Research Guides: Country Social Statistics: History sources

Historical Sources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes journals in the social and humanities sciences, covering 1953-present.

IPUMS
"IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Data and services are available free of charge."

Europa World This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints, this resource has not been renewed as of 12/31/2023.
Concurrent user limit: 4
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, a source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book covers political and economic information in countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides reports written by journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research

Country Studies - LIbrary of Congress
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published into the 1990's in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region.

Temple University

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu