Research Guides: Economics Writing Seminar: ECON 3598: Statistical / Data Sources

Data and statistics databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to quantitative facts by market sector, encompassing agriculture, finance, and politics, and others. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policy Map is a web-based Geographic Information System that provides a simple mechanism for visualizing data. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries. Data is accessible in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports and also may be downloaded.
Some PolicyMap datasets are from free government sources (including U.S. Census data), while other datasets are from proprietary sources, including detailed home sales statistics, school district performance from GreatSchools, locations of grocery stores and non-profit organizations, and Nielsen estimates and projections for demographic indicators.
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet) This link opens in a new window
Demographic, social, political, economic and international data/statistics. Data Planet Statistical Data Sets provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. It contains charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.
IPUMS This link opens in a new window
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Researchers can study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Includes national and international GIS data.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Sections include Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure and Performance, Economic Sectors, and Governance and International Relations. Great source of info!

More data sources

Government Websites

BEA Data
Data by topic, place, and economic account.
BEA Data Archive
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Find longitudinal (time-series) data from the Bureau of Economic Analysis. (IMPORTANT: most recent data in time-series might not contain the current revision.)
BLS Data Retrieval Tools
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Find longitudinal (time-series) data on labor, employment, prices, and wages. Start with the BLS Popular Series reports.
BTS Information Gallery
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Browse statistical products and data.
Data.gov
US government open data
Explore Census Data
Use basic keyword search or advanced search using filters.
FRED Economic Data
Federal Reserve Economic Data
Find longitudinal (time-series) data on banking, employment, national accounts, production, and prices. Find regional, national, and international data.
National Center for Education Statistics
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu