Tourism and Hospitality

Comprises over one thousand entries and has been written by a truly international team of more than three hundred contributors to provide a comprehensive guide to both the manifest and hidden dimensions of tourism.

An important resource for researchers of tourism, this reference work defines and explains terms associated with considering and preserving the environment, host peoples, communities, cultures, customs, lifestyles and social and economic systems.

The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management).

Combining the disciplines of marine scientists and tourism researchers, this encyclopedia will bring together the terms, concepts and theories related to recreational and tourism activities in marine settings.

This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and updated source of reference in tourism research and practice. It covers both traditional and emerging concepts and terms and is fully international in its scope.

This new edition includes: * A dictionary of 2500 terms* Descriptions of 300 organizations* A biographical dictionary of 100 personalities* *Explanations of 1200 acronyms and abbreviations* Key data for well over 200 countries* and A concise bibliography listing more than 100 useful sources of further information.

This revised and updated edition provides clear definitions of over 9500 terms used in a wide range of topics related to this popular and expanding industry.

Get your hands on the brand-new "Eight-language tourism dictionary". The topics in the book are treated in eight languages-English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Czech and Slovak.

The purpose of this Handbook is to provide an insightful and authoritative account of the various issues that are shaping the higher educational world of tourism, hospitality and events education and to highlight the creative, inventive and innovative ways that educators are responding to these issues.

The Routledge Handbook of Cultural Tourism explores and critically evaluates the debates and controversies in this field of Tourism.

The Routledge Handbook of Tourism Marketing explores and critically evaluates the current debates and controversies inherent to the theoretical, methodological and practical processes of marketing within this complex and multi-sector industry.

Each of the five inter related sections explores and evaluates issues that are of extreme importance to hospitality organizations, many of which have not been adequately explored before: external and internal customers, debates surrounding finance, uncertainty risk and conflict, sustainability, and e-Hospitality and Technology.

"Handbook of Tourism Economics: Analysis, New Applications and Case Studies" provides an up-to-date, concise and readable coverage of the most important topics in tourism economics. It pays attention to relevant traditional topics in tourism economics as well as exciting emerging topics in this field -- topics which are expected to be of continuing importance. In doing this, it takes account of advances in economic thought, analysis and applied methods. Contributions provide applications of economic analysis to tourism policy and constructive assessment of contemporary thought about tourism economics. The handbook includes several in-depth case studies such as the contribution of tourism to economic development in selected countries including China, India, Japan and Australia, Portugal and Fiji. Coming from diverse countries (both industrialised and developing) and established in the field of tourism economics, travel and management, many of the contributors have been consultants to governments, private organisations, and international bodies, including the UN World Tourism Organisation, the OECD and UNEP.

This authoritative A–Z provides a wealth of up-to-date information on every country in the world, including dependent territories. Each entry provides a brief history of the country and outlines its political, economic, and social issues. A quick-reference fact box provides comparative information on land area, people, language, religion, life expectancy, GDP, gender equality, and environmental performance.

This comprehensive directory, the first of its kind, provides information about more than 1,100 museums and sites devoted to 55 ethnic groups, including not only those founded and operated by ethnic groups themselves but also those created by 'non-ethnic' persons, agencies and institutions.