Research Guides: Global Studies: Articles

Articles

Scholarlly journal articles offer recent, in-depth research on a topic and tend to focus on more narrow topics compared to books. The purpose is to present research for the first time. Another important fact is that journal articles are peer reviewed, meaning every article was evaluated by an anonymous panel of scholars for their merit before publication.

Article Databases

Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index is a database which contains searchable author abstracts covering the journal literature of the social sciences.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) contains arts, humanities, and social science journals. A&HCI provides information and data from 1975 to the present.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Note: This is an upgrade from America: History & Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes citations of books and media reviews from a selection of journals in US and Canadian history and related fields, as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
Anthropology Plus [via EbscoHost] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 5
Anthropology Plus [via EbscoHost] contains Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature into a single database. Anthropological Index covers scholarly literature. Anthropological Literature provides articles and essays.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Econlit contains indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes journals in the social and humanities sciences, covering 1953-present.
ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides coverage of the world's literature on sociology and applied aspects of sociology.
TRID This link opens in a new window
TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) is a bibliographic resource on transportation research information and covers all modes and disciplines of transportation.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Other databases - recommeded checklist

Articles and Databases

• Anthropology Plus

• AnthroSource

• Academic Search Complete

• Google Scholar

• JSTOR

• ProQuest

• Social Science Citation Index

• Wiley

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online contains Full text online journals from Cambridge University Press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complimentary access to JSTOR A&S (XII, XIII, XIV, XV), Lives of Literature, Hebrew Journals, Ecology & Botany II, Jewish Studies, Business IV, and Ireland collections has been made available by JSTOR through 6/30/2023 in an effort to support increased online learning during the COVID-19 outbreak.
JSTOR provides page images of ebooks, ebook chapters, and back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to current publication.
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Journals Online is a collection of academic and research journals that cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Project Muse provides access to full-text journals, ebooks, and ebook chapters from university presses. Temple does not have access to all available ebooks.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online provides access to journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences from Sage Publications.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu