Research Guides: Global Studies: Reference Sources

Reference Sources Online

Use dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks to

1. get an overview of your topic

2. define terms

3. identify key words and concepts relating to your research topic

Scholarly or academic dictionaries explain concepts and trace the development of terms. The goal of encyclopedias is to bring together the most accepted facts and opinions about a topic, usually with references to key sources. Handbooks try bring together and organize all the research about a topic in a discipline.

All reference books listed below are available online. Click the item title to access the book.

Access to full text is limited to Temple University faculty, students, and staff. If you are off campus, you must prove you are affiliated with TU by entering your AccessNet ID and password.

Recommended Reference Sources

The Routledge handbook of transformative global studies by edited by S. A. Hamed Hosseini, James Goodman, Sara C. Motta, and Barry K. Gills.
Publication Date: 2021

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online is a collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Some of the relevant titles here are:
The Oxford Handbook of Global Studies
The Oxford Handbook of multicultural identity
The Oxford Handbook of cultural sociology
The Oxford Handbook of citizenship
The Oxford Handbook of global religions
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

Sociology of Globalization by Keri E. Iyall Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780429972713
Publication Date: 2018-04-24
A diverse and engaging collection of essays on the sociology of globalization that offers a systematic analysis of globalization and its impacts on people worldwide in three sections focused on culture, economy, and politics.
The Handbook of Economic Development and Institutions by Jean-Marie Baland (Editor); François Bourguignon (Editor); Jean-Philippe Platteau (Editor); Thierry Verdier (Editor)
ISBN: 9780691192017
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
The definitive reference on the most current economics of development and institutions.This book focuses on three critical issues: the definitions of institutions in order to argue for a causal link to development, the complex interplay between formal and informal institutions, and the evolution and coevolution of institutions and their interactions with the political economy of development.

Other Reference Sources

You must have a Temple AccessNet ID and Password in order to access these resources off-campus.

The Global Enterprise by James D. Wright
ISBN: 9781412865517
Publication Date: 2018-07-27
There are approximately 200 nations on Earth, and the social sciences are being practiced in each one, yet too little of this global enterprise is known to Western, particularly American, social scientists.
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook by Clifton D. (Dow) Bryant Dennis L Peck
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781412939645
Publication Date: 2006

Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews Online provides research literature in various disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

The Blackwell Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Social Thought by William Outhwaite; Thomas B. Bottomore
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 063122789X
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Encyclopedia of Community by Karen Christensen (Editor); David Levinson (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0761925988
Publication Date: 2003-06-23
The Encyclopedia of Community is a major four volume reference work comprising of over five hundred detailed articles, that seeks to provide a comprehensive exploration of one of the most widely researched topics in the behavioural and social sciences. Community itself is a concept, an experience, and a central part of being human. International in scope.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by Paul Robbins (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1412927617
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. The five volumes of this Encyclopedia represent more than a catalogue of terms. Rather, they capture the spirit of the moment, a fascinating time when global warming and genetic engineering represent only two of the most obvious examples of socio-environmental issues.
Encyclopedia of Evaluation by Sandra Mathison
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780761926092
Publication Date: 2004-10-21
The Encyclopedia of Evaluation is an authoritative, first-of-its-kind who, what, where, why, and how of the field of evaluation. Covering professional practice as well as academia, this volume chronicles the development of the field - its history, key figures, theories, approaches and goals.
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by Norman B. Anderson (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0761923608
Publication Date: 2004-01-21
This Encyclopedia was designed with the overarching goal to collect together in a single resource the knowledge generated by this interdisciplinary field, highlighting the links between science and practice. In it, scholars, health care practitioners and the general public will find a wealth of information on topics such as physical activity, stress and health, smoking, pain management, social support and health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS. This two-volume set includes more than 200 entries on topics covering all aspects of health and behavior. In addition, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior includes a comprehensive set of additional resources with entries on selected organizations and an appendix with a detailed annotated listing of such organizations as well as Web sites of interest.
Encyclopedia of Homelessness by David Levinson (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0761927514
Publication Date: 2004-06-21
The Encyclopedia of Homelessness is the first systematic effort to organize and summarize what we know about this complex topic which impacts not only the homeless but all of society. The Encyclopedia focuses on the current situation in the United States, with a comparative sampling of homelessness around the world. The Encyclopedia contains entries on Australia, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, France, Guatemala, Japan, Nigeria, Russia, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Zimbabwe, Tokyo, Calcutta, London and others from around the world. The Encyclopedia of Homelessness meets the needs of a broad audience, offering a rich history and the data, views, and perspectives of experts from different disciplines and perspectives.
Encyclopedia of Law and Society by David S. Clark
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 076192387X
Publication Date: 2007-07-10
The Encyclopedia of Law and Society is the largest comprehensive and international treatment of the law and society field. With an Advisory Board of 62 members from 20 countries and six continents, the three volumes of this state-of-the-art resource represent interdisciplinary perspectives on law from sociology, criminology, cultural anthropology, political science, social psychology, and economics. By globalizing the Encyclopedia's coverage, American and international law and society will be better understood within its historical and comparative context.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by George Ritzer (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0761926119
Publication Date: 2004-08-19
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory, two-volume set, is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in understanding the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand the strengths and weaknesses of all the key areas of the discipline. These include: -Structural fundamentalism; -Marxist theory; -Critical theory; -Phenomenology; -Ethnomethodology; -Exchange theory; -Rational choice; -Feminism; -Multiculturalism; -Postmodernism.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Borgatta, Edgar F
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0028648536
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by Jr James J. Ponzetti
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0028656725
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family revises and expands Macmillan's 1995 Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family, adopting an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency and commuter marriages. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies by James R. Bailey (Editor); Stewart R. Clegg (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1412915155
Publication Date: 2007-08-28
The International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies is the definitive description of the field, spanning individual, organizational, societal, and cultural perspective in a cross-disciplinary manner. It is the premier reference tool for students, educators, scholars, and practitioners to gather knowledge about a range of important topics from the unique perspective of organization studies with extensive international representation. The Encyclopedia is thoroughly cross-referenced, and entries are based around a series of broad themes. Editors Stewart R. Clegg and James R. Bailey bring together a team of international contributors from the fields of management, psychology, sociology, communications, education, political science, public administration, anthropology, law, and other related areas.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0080430767
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by William A. Darity Jr., 1953- editor
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780028659657
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty by Mehmet A. Odekon (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 148334570X
Publication Date: 2015-08-04
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, Second Edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark first edition, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008.

Mapping Resources

Census Data Mapping Files and TOols
Find geographic data and tools such as TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.

Geolytics Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 3
Note: Users will see a GeoLytics login screen that is auto-populated with the correct User ID and Password. Just click 'Login' to access this resource.
Geolytics Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010, and 2020 at the census tract level.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policy Map is a web-based Geographic Information System that provides a simple mechanism for visualizing data. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries. Data is accessible in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports and also may be downloaded.
Some PolicyMap datasets are from free government sources (including U.S. Census data), while other datasets are from proprietary sources, including detailed home sales statistics, school district performance from GreatSchools, locations of grocery stores and non-profit organizations, and Nielsen estimates and projections for demographic indicators.
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 10
Simply Analytics is a web-based mapping application that permits users to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing variables. Maps can be exported as high-resolution images; data can be selected, sorted, and compared to build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides access to demographic information and interactive data maps about the United States.

Non-Governmental Organization Sources

Charity Navigator
Founded in 2001, Charity Navigator has become the nation's largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities. In our quest to help donors, our team of professional analysts has examined tens of thousands of non-profit financial documents. We've used this knowledge to develop an unbiased, objective, numbers-based rating system to assess over 9,000 of America's best-known and some lesser known, but worthy, charities.

Foundation Directory Online (FDO) This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints, FDO will no longer be available after 6/30/24. Additional grant and funding resources can be found through Temple Libraries or the Free Library of Philadelphia.
Foundation Directory Online (FDO) provides access to information on grantmakers and their grants. Included in the database are foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making public charities in the U.S.

GuideStar
GuideStar gathers and disseminates information about every single IRS-registered nonprofit organization. They provide as much information as possible about each nonprofit's mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governance, and more.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data This link opens in a new window
Note: The linked IMF Data is available to the public. Temple does not currently subscribe to any IMF products.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data provides a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators including International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics. Includes the IMF Data Mapper web mapping tool.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
The data produced by NCCS are intended for use by researchers and policy-makers in their quantitative analyses, and as a springboard for more in-depth survey or case study research.
National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities
The National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE) system is used by the IRS and NCCS to classify nonprofit organizations.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Note: As of 7/1/2024 OECD is a publicly-available resource.
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) provides access to statistical data, books, journals and working papers on subjects such as: Agriculture and Food, Development, Education, Energy, Environment, Finance and Investment, Social Issues, Transport and more. The Statistics channel delivers access to the OECD's statistical databases allowing users real-time access to the latest data. (Updated daily)
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu