Sport Management

On the management side, this encyclopedia introduces principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance, leadership, governance, communication, business law and ethics, and human resource practices, all in the sports context. On the marketing side it explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and sport-related products and using sport as a platform for marketing non-sports products, as seen in celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.

The Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport presents knowledge from sports management, sports science, human movement studies, sport history, and sport sociology. Here is full coverage of all the social and human issues in sports that keep talk radio buzzing, key social issues such as doping, racism, sexism, civic life, youth participation, and public policy are amply covered, with all perspectives represented.

An authoritative, one stop overview of the history of sports in Britain from the earliest times to the present. * Contains over 300 entries covering individual sports, sporting controversies, issues and concepts, key individuals, famous clubs, competitions, events, and incidents * Comprehensive introduction * Detailed chronology * Bibliography and illustrations

This monumental three volume work provides students and scholars with an unprecedented historical and cross-cultural survey of sports from around the world, together with articles on such topics as violence and ritual.

The Dickson Baseball Dictionary is the most complete resource on the lexicon of baseball in the English language with over 10,000 terms and 18,000 definitions, provides the comprehensive history and meanings of words and phrases from around the world of baseball. Termed "baseball's Webster,"

This is the brand new Dictionary of Sports Studies. It contains over 1,100 clear, concise, and authoritative entries. Wide-ranging coverage includes the social, political, economical, and cultural theory of sport, as well as entries relating to exercise, preparation, and performance psychology, and key scientific terms, including nutrition and anatomy.

It provides definitions and short accounts of terms used and techniques employed in the study and practical application of the relevant anatomy, physiology, biomechanics and psychology, and of commonly associated medical problems and treatments. Illustrations are included.

A standard source of first referral, Porter's multivolume Biographical Dictionary of American Sports adds a long-awaited revised and expanded edition of the popular 1987 Baseball volume and its supplements. This three-volume work profiles over 1,450 baseball luminaries, including current stars, former major league players, managers, umpires, executives, and Negro League and All-American Girls Professional Baseball League stars.

The Historical Dictionary of Football covers the history of American football through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 600 cross-referenced entries on both amateur (collegiate) and professional players, coaches, teams and executives from all eras.

The SAGE Handbook of Sport Management draws together the best current research on the major topics relevant to the field of sports management, including leadership, gender, diversity, development, policy, tourism, and media.

This Handbook is heavily built upon choosing, applying and evaluating appropriate quantitative as well as qualitative research methods for practical advice in sport and business research.Topics covered for analysis include sports governance, regulation and performance; media and technology; club management and team structure; place, time and spectators of sporting events; and sport branding and sponsoring.

This book meets the needs of those studying and researching within the growing discipline of sport management. The intelligently cross-referenced entries provide a concise overview of the key concepts in the field guiding you through the important debates, sources and research methods in the management and delivery of sport.

Employment relations, much discussed in other industries, has often been neglected in professional sports despite its unique characteristics. The book aims to explore in detail the unique nature of the employment relationship in professional sports and the sport industry.

This is the first book to trace the intellectual contours of theory in sport management, and to explain, critique and celebrate the importance of sport management theory in academic research, teaching and learning, and in the development of professional practice.

Chapters explain and clarify the official scorer's duties, responsibilities and authority; the official scorer's reports; and all the game-to-game details such as player listings, substitute batters and runners, out-of-turn batters, called and forfeited games, runs batted in, base hits, stolen bases, sacrifices, putouts, assists, double and triple plays, errors (and instances when errors are not charged), wild pitches and passed balls, bases on balls, strikeouts, earned runs, winning and losing pitchers, and saves.

A clear and comprehensive guide to the rules of baseball. Covers 1. Basic Rules of Baseball; 2. Teams and Leagues; 3. Before the Game Starts; 4. Equipment; 5. Field Specifications; 6. Pitching; 7. Batting; 8. Running; 9. Fielding; 10. The Umpires; 11. The Manager and Coaches; 12. Misbehavior; 13. Spectators; 14. Weather, Suspended, andTerminated Games; 15. The Official Scorer; Glossary; Index

Compiling and organizing all of the data in The American Soccer Guide has been a herculean effort, primarily due to the very nature of soccer’s development in the United States during the last two decades. There has been an almost constant creation and abandonment of teams and leagues in the United States until recent years.

This new edition of Teaching Disability Sport: A Guide for Physical Educators has content that future and current teachers need to plan and implement sport skill-related lessons in an inclusive physical education program. This rendition places greater emphasis on preparing future physical education teachers to use disability sport in their programs. It offers instruction on the various aspects of disability sport, how to teach it, and how to improve programming for students, regardless of ability or disability.

Allen describes and evaluates over 1,000 information sources on the complete spectrum of sports. Focusing on English-language works published between 1990 and the present, the guide thoroughly covers traditional reference sources, such as encyclopedias and bibliographies, along with instructional sources in print formats, online databases, and Web sites.