Physician Assistant Program

Designed as a highly visual and practical resource to be used across the spectrum of lifelong learning, Ballweg's Physician Assistant, 7th Edition, helps you master all the core competencies needed for physician assistant certification, recertification, and clinical practice. It remains the only textbook that covers all aspects of the physician assistant profession, the PA curriculum, and the PA's role in clinical practice. Ideal for both students and practicing PAs, it features a succinct, bulleted writing style, convenient tables, practical case studies, and clinical application questions that enable you to master key concepts and clinical applications. Addresses all six physician assistant competencies, as well as providing guidance for the newly graduated PA entering practice.  Includes five new chapters: What Is a Physician Assistant, and How Did We Get Here?, Effective Use of Technology for Patient-Centered Care, Success in the Clinical Year, Transitioning to Practice and Working in Teams,  and Finding Your Niche.  Features an enhanced focus on content unique to the PA profession that is not readily found in other resources, more illustrations for today's visually oriented learners, a more consistent format throughout, and a new emphasis on the appropriate use of social media among healthcare professionals.  Provides updated content throughout to reflect the needs of the PA profession,  including new content on self-care for the PA to help prevent burnout, suicide, and other hazards faced by healthcare professionals.  Guides students in preparation for each core clinical rotation and common electives, as well as working with  special patient populations such as patients experiencing homelessness and patients with disabilities.  Includes quick-use resources, such as objectives and key points sections for each chapter, tip boxes with useful advice, abundant tables and images, and more than 130 updated case studies.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, as well as exclusive eBook chapters: A Primer on Learning Objectives, A Primer on Item Writing, and A Primer on Team-Based Learning.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title   Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments.   Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.   NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle.   UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations.  UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. Lippincott® Connect features:  Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience.  Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, audio and video tutorials, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension.  Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can:  Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics.  Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material.  Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later.  Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page. 

Build a working medical vocabulary quickly with Chabner's Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 9th Edition! Omitting time-consuming, nonessential information, this text helps you master the basics of medical vocabulary - including the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. A text/workbook format lets you practice and interact with medical terminology on almost every page through exercises, labeling, and pronunciations. Case studies and real-world vignettes demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the Evolve website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Easy-to-read and understandable language allows you to quickly grasp and retain medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in biology or medicine. Text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with exercises, diagram labeling, review sheets, and pronunciation practice throughout the book. Full-color illustrations and photographs show parts of the body, diseases, conditions, and medical procedures. Picture Show activities, medical case reports, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms. First Person narratives help you to understand diseases and conditions from the patient's perspective. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces your understanding of key concepts and easily confused terms. Evolve website includes resources optimized for tablet use, and mobile-optimized versions of the flash cards and quick quizzes make it easier for on-the-go study and review. Body Systems Challenge self-test assesses and reinforces your understanding at your own pace. NEW! Additional case studies provide examples of medical terminology in the context of patient care and procedures. NEW! Immunity and COVID-19 Vaccines appendix features topics of current interest, including infectious disease, cancer treatments, medical technologies, and pharmacology.

A comprehensive, evidence-based introduction to the principles and practices of patient communication in a clinical setting Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition presents a step-by-step methodology for mastering every aspect of the medical interview. Readers will learn how to confidently obtain from patients accurate biomedical facts, as well as critical personal, social, and emotional information, allowing them to make a precise diagnosis, develop effective treatment plans, and forge strong clinician-patient relationships. The most evidence-based guide available on the topic, Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition applies the proven 5-step approach, which integrates patient- and clinician-centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and use of color to highlight key points, and pedagogy includes learning an practice exercises in each chapter.

The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title   Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments.   Grant's Dissector, Seventeenth Edition provides step-by-step human cadaver dissection procedures for students to perform in the anatomy lab and to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. More informative and approachable than ever, this updated seventeenth edition broadens students' understanding of key dissection procedures and readies them for success in healthcare practice.   Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a Dissection Overview that provides a blueprint of what needs to be accomplished during the dissection session and includes relevant surface anatomy. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages students to reflect on and synthesize the information. New and revised illustrations, including new surface landmark illustrations, strengthen students' grasp of common dissection procedures. New chapter introductions focus students' attention on relevant Clinical Correlations.  Reorganized Skeletal and Surface Anatomy sections guide students logically from palpating bony structures to making skin incisions. Enhanced and streamlined cross-references reinforce understanding with direct links to related content in Grant's Atlas of Anatomy as well as Grant's Dissection Videos. Dissection Overviews guide students through relevant surface anatomy and osteology. Numbered, step-by-step Dissection Instructions clarify procedures and enhance the dissection experience. Full-color illustrations improve students' accuracy and precision from initial incisions through deeper dissections. Clinical Correlation boxes place procedures in a clinical context to ready students for healthcare practice. Lippincott® Connect features:  Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience.  Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension.  Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can:  Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics.  Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material.  Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later.  Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page. 

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy, Sixth Edition , presents core anatomical concepts in a concise, student-friendly format. As with the leading, comprehensive Clinically Oriented Anatomy text, this succinct resource is widely acclaimed for the relevance of its clinical correlations, emphasizing anatomy essential to physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The text's hallmark blue Clinical Boxes highlight the practical value of anatomy, accompanied by extensive surface anatomy and medical imaging features that clarify key concepts and structures to help build clinical confidence and equip students for success in practice. Updated, renowned blue Clinical Boxes explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. New and updated surface anatomy and physical examination photos help you grasp the clinical context for key structures and skills. Surface Anatomy boxes with overlay illustrations enhance your clinical and diagnostic capabilities. Medical Imaging boxes containing a wealth of plain and contrast radiographic, MR, CT, and ultrasonographic images provide a real-life clinical perspective that strengthens your anatomical knowledge and application. A thorough "Overview and Basic Concepts" chapter equips you with the foundational understanding of systemic information, terminology, and basic concepts. Chapter outlines and illustrated tables highlight key topics and information for efficient study. Online resources include multiple choice, board-style review questions that can be used to practice for course and licensing exams, along with cases studies and narrated animations that enrich clinical understanding. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more

Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.

Through six highly regarded editions, students and instructors alike have come to appreciate Dr. Linda Costanzo's clear, helpful writing style, logical organization, and easy-to-follow presentation of a challenging and complex topic in medical education. Costanzo Physiology, 7th Edition, retains the step-by-step, to-the-point approach that makes this text ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Complex concepts are presented in a simple, easy-to-digest manner, and are accompanied by well-designed figures and tables that provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations. Fully updated throughout, this edition remains the students' choice for concise, clear instruction and a strong foundation in human physiology. Offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand.  Presents information in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams.  Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles.  Contains new coverage of SARS CoV-2 physiology, renal handling of uric acid, delta/delta analysis is acid-base physiology, endolymph physiology, respiratory distress syndrome, compensatory bronchiolar constriction, and more.  Includes high-yield online features such as student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo.  Integrates equations and sample problems throughout the text.  Features chapter summaries for quick overviews of important points, boxed Clinical Physiology Cases for a more thorough understanding of application, and end-of-chapter questions to reinforce understanding and retention.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A complete introductory text on how to integrate basic genetic principles into the practice of clinical medicine Medical Genetics is the first text to focus on the everyday application of genetic assessment and its diagnostic, therapeutic, and preventive implications in clinical practice. It is intended to be a text that you can use throughout medical school and refer back to when questions arise during residency and, eventually, practice. Medical Genetics is written as a narrative where each chapter builds upon the foundation laid by previous ones. Chapters can also be used as stand-alone learning aids for specific topics. Taken as a whole, this timely book delivers a complete overview of genetics in medicine. You will find in-depth, expert coverage of such key topics as: The structure and function of genes Cytogenetics Mendelian inheritance Mutations Genetic testing and screening Genetic therapies Disorders of organelles Key genetic diseases, disorders, and syndromes Each chapter of Medical Genetics is logically organized into three sections: Background and Systems - Includes the basic genetic principles needed to understand the medical application Medical Genetics - Contains all the pertinent information necessary to build a strong knowledge base for being successful on every step of the USMLE Case Study Application - Incorporates case study examples to illustrate how basic principles apply to real-world patent care Today, with every component of health care delivery requiring a working knowledge of core genetic principles, Medical Genetics is a true must-read for every clinician.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems More than 130 case studies with Q&A A Doody's Core Title for 2019!  The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book.  This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. HERE ARE SOME OF THE MANY UPDATES AND ADDITIONS: * Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book's 24 chapters * More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors * Totally revised chapter on neoplasia * New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies * New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease * New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment * Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy * Updated references throughout the book

Lehninger's Principles of Biochemistry earned acclaim for its presentation and organization of complex concepts and connections, anchored in the principles of biochemistry.  This legacy continues in the eighth edition with a new framework that highlights the principles and supports student learning.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to evaluate and apply statistics in medicine, medical research, and all health-related fields A  Doody's Core Title for 2020! Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research.   The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed.   Features:   *  Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion    of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods *  Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues *  Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package *  Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception    and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI *  Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model *  Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout  

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Understand the role of epidemiology in clinical medicine for the best patient outcomes possible For nearly a quarter of a century, Medical Epidemiology has been the go-to text for understanding the principles and concepts of epidemiology and the relationship between population-based science and efficient patient care. It delivers the most current information on patterns of disease occurrence and risk factors - all clearly linked to clinical practice through the use of Health Scenarios in every chapter. This edition of Medical Epidemiology has been completely rewritten to reflect the transformative changes in the manner in which epidemiologic methods are being utilized in today's healthcare as well as the major shifts that have occurred at the policy level. New chapters have been added on many timely topics, including global health, social determinants of health, health inequalities, comparative effectiveness, quality of care, variations in care, and implementation science. Increased information about evaluating, summarizing, and using evidence for improved patient care and outcomes gives this edition an even greater clinical focus.