American Revolution - Intermediate Writing Seminar - Atlantic Revolutions: HIST 3096

Newspaper Sources

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains large and small town American newspapers from 1690 to 1922.
Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800 This link opens in a new window
Note: As of August 2024, Accessible Archives is now History Commons. Please update your bookmarks accordingly.
The Pennsylvania Gazette provides the reader with a firsthand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, it Includes articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements. Also included are many full-text writings such as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne`s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc.
British Library Newspapers (1732-1950) This link opens in a new window
Select 17th-18th Century Burney Collection and British Library Newspapers from the list of databases.

Primary Source Collections

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
America's Historical Imprints contains metadata and/or full-text of Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
British Periodicals Online This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals Online provides access to full text periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, containing high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
Early Encounters in North America contains documents on relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides perspectives from all of the protagonists.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Access to newly added modules is guaranteed through May 2027
UK Parliamentary Papers provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy. A full content list can be found on this LibGuide.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 21st Century
House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, 1800 - 1910
Public Petitions to Parliament, 1833 - 1918

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu