Research Guides: Program Planning, Theory, and Practice: SBS 5002: Agencies, Organizations & Grants

US Government Agencies

National/Federal

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
includes Office of Minority Health and Health Equity, Center for Global Health and over 10 more.

CDC Publications Site is organized by public health topic and includes Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports (MMWR) and emerging infectious disease and chronic prevention peer reviewed articles.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHRQ is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of healthcare for all Americans. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the healthcare system and help consumers, healthcare professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.

Visit AHRQ for Policymakers and Data & Analytics for case studies, quality indicators, data, surveys and more.

Government Accountability Office
GAO, often called the "congressional watchdog,” is an independent, non-partisan agency that works for Congress. GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, non-partisan, fact-based information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports
Reports discuss the efficiency, effectiveness, and cost-benefit of selected legislation. Browse by date and search by topic.
Evaluation.Gov
Evaluation.gov is the home for Federal program evaluation and the Evaluation Officer Council. Evaluation.gov brings together the plans and activities that drive evaluation efforts across the Federal Government. Access agency plans for building evidence (Learning Agendas) and conducting evaluations (Annual Evaluation Plans), as well as agency assessments of their capacity to generate needed evidence for policymaking, and the policies that govern evaluation activities

State and Local

Library guide to find Pennsylvania and Philadelphia agencies

Inter-Governmental Organizations

WHO World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Includes dashboards, reports, country profiles and data.

European Agencies

European Centre for Disease and Prevention Control
Site includes rapid risk assessments, guidance and a variety of reports.
Health System Profiles (European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies)
Country-based reports on health systems and policy initiatives.

Grants and Funding Resources

Licensed resources can be accessed with TU AccessNet ID or onsite at Temple Libraries. See also Funding for racial equity (Candida, Foundation Directory Online) and InsidePhilanthropy grants for racial justice racial equity and idigeneous rights (subscription required for full article).

Pivot This link opens in a new window
Pivot provides tools for discovering funding opportunities and supporting collaboration in the research development field. Sign up for a COS Pivot profile with your Temple email address to track funding opportunities, save and share searches, find personal funding matches, and enjoy other customized features.
Foundation Directory Online (FDO) This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints, FDO will no longer be available after 6/30/24. Additional grant and funding resources can be found through Temple Libraries or the Free Library of Philadelphia.
Foundation Directory Online (FDO) provides access to information on grantmakers and their grants. Included in the database are foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making public charities in the U.S.

USAspending.gov
Search for recipients of federal grants
Grants.gov
Gathers contract, grant, loan, and other financial assistance awards by federal agencies.

eGrants.net This link opens in a new window
eGrants.net is a publicly available resource that provides information about federal, state, local, and private grants, contracts, fellowships, and charitable gifts in health care and medicine.

InsidePhilanthropy (website)
Database requires a subscription, which Temple Libraries do not have.
Student Funding Finder (Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health)
Temple University Grants and Funding

Think tanks

Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations.
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)
Independent global health research center at the University of Washington.
Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP) (Univ. Minnesota)
The site includes news, reports, webinars and more on a host of medical topics.

Kaiser Family Foundation
A non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Site includes analysis, surveys, and facts relating to global health policy.
Rand Health Publications
RAND is a major US think thank, which publishes a number of reports on the topic of healthcare.
National Academies Press, Health and Medical Books
National Academies Press reports, conference summaries and books on current medical and health care topics including home health care, health literacy, disease prevention and spread of viral diseases. Free PDF downloads.

Directories

The listings on this page highlight some key general sources and are not meant to be comprehensive.

Search for more health policy and management, special interest, research centers, and advocacy organizations with Gale Directory Library. For example, search "health policy and management" in the Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. and filter by State and Subject Category, such as "Health services administration" .

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window

Gale Directory Library provides full-text, searchable access to Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations and Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the US. Users can also sort and export data from the directories.

United States Government Manual
Information on agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. Also includes information on international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions and committees.