Research Guides: Recreational Therapy: Find Articles

Find Articles

Searches in these databases provide article citations and abstracts, and sometimes the full text as either a PDF or HTML. When the full text is not directly linked, look for the Find Full Text icon next to each abstract, which leads to the full-text article elsewhere in another database.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic One File provides full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. This database contains articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains journals in therapeutic recreation and public health
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The American Journal of Recreation Therapy is searchable here
CINAHL Abstracting and Indexing Database
Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. CINAHL also includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,446 active global OA journals.  Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Subject Headings
CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Content Includes
3,814 active indexed and abstracted journals
3,461 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
1,312 journals with searchable cited references
Embase This link opens in a new window
EMBASE contains references to journal articles in biomedicine. The references consist of authors, title, journal data, abstract and keywords. EMBASE contains European literature, and coverage in the field of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. The database can be searched back to 1974.
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present.
Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Index provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism dating as far back as 1965.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Life provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index is a database which contains searchable author abstracts covering the journal literature of the social sciences.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Recreation Journal is searchable within this database

Clinical Information

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Dyna Med provides access to evidence-based medical information, and includes topics of: diseases, disorders, symptoms, etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources.
Dynamic Health This link opens in a new window
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes.

Searching for a Journal by Title

Journal Finder
Use this to search for all Temple University journals and periodicals (including magazine & newspaper holdings), many of which have free online open access. You can type in a specific journal name or ISSN number or else enter a Subject Term or Keyword.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu