The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), of which Temple is a member, provides access to a vast archive of social science data sets, which Temple users can directly download. Topics include Social Institutions and Behavior: (Economics, Education, Family, Community and Urban, Mass Political Behavior); Health Data, Organizational Data; and Government Structures and Policy.
All data sets, a total of more than 6200, have been cataloged and can be searched for in Diamond, the library's online catalog. To locate a data set on a specific topic, do a keyword search in Diamond, using as your search terms 'ICPSR" and a subject term. For example, if you wanted to locate data about racism, you would do a keyword search using 'ICPSR'and 'racism' as your terms; this will produce a list of 7 data files. To see a list of all ICPSR datasets in Diamond, click Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.
To find statistics, consider using one of the major print indexes:
- American Statistics Index / Washington, Congressional Information Service: a comprehensive guide to the statistical publications of the U. S. Government. See Lexis-Nexis Statistical below.
- Index to International Statistics / Washington, DC : Congressional Information Service, c1983- : a guide to the statistical publications of international intergovernmental organizations.
- Statistical Reference Index / [Washington, D.C.] : Congressional Information Service, [c1981]- : a selective guide to American statistical publications from private organizations and state government sources. See Data-Planet Statistical DataSets
- Data-Planet Statistical DataSets / provides online access to the following highly respected finding aids for statistical data:
Federal Sources: American Statistics Index (ASI) 1973-
The U.S. Government is the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics. ASI indexes and abstracts
statistical data published by all branches and agencies of the Federal Government, including both depository and
non-depository publications. ASI includes federal agency publications that contain social, economic,
demographic, or natural resources data, and a selection of publications with scientific and technical data.
State and Private Sector Sources: Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
SRI identifies statistical data published by consumer and trade magazines, private organizations, state government agencies, business organizations, independent research organizations, and universities and affiliated research centers. Publications covered by SRI contain important statistics on business, industry and finance, general economic conditions, government programs and politics, and social trends. SRI offers access to national data, such as production, costs, and earnings in major industries; statewide data, such as statistics on crime, health, or employment; data on foreign countries, such as world economic and demographic trends; and local or narrowly focused data, such as detail by county and municipality.
There many volumes of statistics, covering a wide range of topics, in the Paley Reference Stacks area. Some examples of volumes in this area include:
- Business statistics of the United States, 11th Edition / edited by Conelia J. Strawser, 2006. Also Available Online (Temple Only)
- Portrait of Health in the United States: Major Statistical Trends & Guide to Resources / Lanham, MD : Bernan, 2001. Also Available Online (Temple Only)
- Statistical Abstract of the United States / Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 1879- . Also Available Online
- Statistical Abstract of the World, 3rd Ed. / Annmarie Muth, editor. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Inc., c1994- .
- Yearbook of Labour Statistics, 62nd ed / Geneva : The Office, 1936- . Geneva : The Office, 1936-
- Yearbook of Tourism Statistics / Madrid : World Tourism Organization, c1986- .
- Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide For the Social Sciences, 3rd ed. / Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2005.
- Finding Statistics Online: How to Locate the Elusive Numbers You Need / Paula Berinstein ; edited by Susanne Bjørner. Medford, NJ : Information Today, 1998.
- International Encyclopedia of Statistics / edited by W. H. Kruskal and J. M. Tanur. New York : Free Press, c1978.
Online Statistical Resources: