As a Temple Law student, you will have access to Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law. These databases provide many resources and tools; the information below provides only a brief overview of their contents and most commonly-used features.
While each of these databases provides access to United States primary law, their annotations, analytical tools, and secondary sources differ. Take the time to explore each one before deciding which will be your "go-to" database, and consult multiple resources when doing research.
Lexis Advance (requires registration; information will be sent to you)
Lexis Advance contains United States primary law (state and federal statutes, case law, and regulations),as well as secondary sources such as treatises, law journal articles, and forms.
Your Lexis login also provides access to Lexis Practice Advisor (practice guidance such as notes, annotated forms and checklists), Lexis Courtlink (court dockets), and other resources.
Lexis Advance training and support materials are available here.
Westlaw Edge (requires registration; information will be sent to you)
Westlaw Edge contains United States primary law (state and federal statutes, case law, and regulations),as well as secondary sources such as treatises, law journal articles, and forms.
Your Westlaw login also provides access to Practical Law, a resource designed to help attorneys formulate and find answers, with forms, checklists, practice notes, and other tools.
Westlaw Edge training materials are available here (Westlaw Edge login required).
Bloomberg Law (requires registration; information will be sent to you)
Bloomberg Law allows users to search dockets and request filings in all federal courts, as well as some state courts. The database also contains popular secondary sources such as BNA and practice materials.
Bloomberg Law training videos and reference guides may be accessed here (Bloomberg Law login required).
Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu
