Research Guides: Master of Science in Oral Health Sciences: Evidence Based Searching

Evidenced Based Resources

Sites that aid in searching for evidence bases published literature. Temple University has, in most cases, established connections to their full text subscriptions from these resources.

ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS) This link opens in a new window
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source offers full-text journals, and indexing and abstracting for journals, books, monographs, magazines and trade periodicals. Subjects include: cosmetic dentistry, anesthesiology, public health, endodontics, forensic odontology, geriatric dentistry, oral and maxillofacial disciplines, orthodontics and dentofacial orthopaedics, pediatric dentistry, periodontics, and prosthodontics.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
Embase This link opens in a new window
EMBASE contains references to journal articles in biomedicine. The references consist of authors, title, journal data, abstract and keywords. EMBASE contains European literature, and coverage in the field of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. The database can be searched back to 1974.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This collection also provides information about Cochrane groups.

clinicaltrials.gov
PubMed Clinical Queries
For quick point-of-care evidence
PubMed Health
Clinical Effectiveness Research

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also includes access to EndNote Online.

Find Articles, Trials or Preprints

These resources are available free for searching and finding citations but will not necessarily provide access to the full text. Access to the article may be searched by using Temple's Citation Finder or Journal Finder.

TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a free medical database providing access to high quality clinical research evidence. TRIP Pro is the enhanced version containing over 100,000 systematic reviews, medical images and videos, millions of full-text articles, and advanced searching.

search.bioPreprint This link opens in a new window
search.bioPreprint searches across several preprint databases to discover yet-to-be published or reviewed biomedical research articles. This is a free resource provided by the University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System.