Research Guides: 🔎 Get Started with Library Research: Media

Streaming Media

These library media databases have thousands of (ad free!) films, documentaries and media clips about a range of topics. Search them using your keywords to see what you can find.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a source of videos and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films on Demand combines : Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Note: Not all content is available for immediate access. To request a title, please fill out the form from within the database.
Kanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions that offers award-winning collections, including titles from PBS, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, Documentary Educational Resources (DER) and more.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
PBS Video Collection assembles documentary films and series from the history of PBS into one online interface. The diverse subject matter of the included films makes this an important collection for the study of history, science, business, technology, performing arts, anthropology, psychology, politics, health, and literature.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus offers a select streaming video collection that is licensed for both on and off campus use by the Temple community.

Royalty-free Images

Find images that you can freely use for your projects and presentations. You will still need to cite where you found the image.

AP Images [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 5
AP Images contains U.S. and international photos, from 1826 to present. Also includes graphics, charts, and timelines.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
DPLA offers millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country and is available to all.

* View all library databases offering royalty-free images.