This guide contains resources on the topic: Cultural Differences in Communication
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by
With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field. Key Themes Applications and Contexts Critical Orientations Cultural Orientations Cybernetic and Systems Orientations Feminist Orientations Group and Organizational Concepts Information, Media, and Communication Technology International and Global Concepts Interpersonal Concepts Non-Western Orientations Paradigms, Traditions, and Schools Philosophical Orientations Psycho-Cognitive Orientations Rhetorical Orientations Semiotic, Linguistic, and Discursive Orientations Social/Interactional Orientations Theory, Metatheory, Methodology, and Inquiry
The Handbook of Communication in Cross-Cultural Perspective by
This handbook brings together 26 ethnographic research reports from around the world about communication. The studies explore 13 languages from 17 countries across 6 continents. Together, the studies examine, through cultural analyses, communication practices in cross-cultural perspective. In doing so, and as a global community of scholars, the studies explore the diversity in ways communication is understood around the world, examine specific cultural traditions in the study of communication, and thus inform readers about the range of ways communication is understood around the world. Some of the communication practices explored include complaining, hate speech, irreverence, respect, and uses of the mobile phone. The focus of the handbook, however, is dual in that it brings into view both communication as an academic discipline and its use to unveil culturally situated practices. By attending to communication in these ways, as a discipline and a specific practice, the handbook is focused on, and will be an authoritative resource for understanding communication in cross-cultural perspective. Designed at the nexus of various intellectual traditions such as the ethnography of communication, linguistic ethnography, and cultural approaches to discourse, the handbook employs, then, a general approach which, when used, understands communication in its particular cultural scenes and communities.
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication, 3 Volume Set by
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication employs a broadly-based taxonomy of intercultural communication (ICC) that consists of six organizing themes. Those themes are the traditional ICC core theme--known as "intercultural communication"--and five associated themes recognized as "cross-cultural communication," "cultural communication," "intergroup communication," "intercultural training," and "critical intercultural communication." This encyclopedia addresses issues of ethnicity and race in intercultural communication--not as a separate theme, but as an integral part of each thematic area. It also provides entries outside the ICC's discipline of communication, such as cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology. This work features 256 articles written by 249 authors representing 19 different countries. The articles address issues, theories, and concepts that have substantively contributed to the development of ICC theory and research (ie: Hall's high- and low-context communication systems; Hofstede's four dimensions); methodological issues of importance to ICC research (ie: emic and etic; sampling equivalence); and summaries of findings from original studies directly pertaining to the ICC domain (ie: cross-cultural psychological studies of cultural differences in variables pertaining to message processing and verbal/nonverbal communication behavior). Overview of the ICC domain as a whole Key research topics in the field with a strong global editorial team Overview essays on the six thematic areas of study Cross-over information from cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library. The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication is an ideal book for international communication undergraduate and graduate students as well as for academic researchers and professional practitioners of intercultural communication.
Communicative Styles of Japanese and Americans by
This text explores general concepts in interpersonal communication and then applies and extends the concepts to Japanese communicative styles. General interpersonal concepts like social space, the verbal and physical aspects of intimacy and commitment are defined and then explored in a Japanese context. Close comparisons of Japanese and American communications illustrate the key similarities and differences between the two cultures. in departments of business studies, psychology and anthropology.
Intercultural Communication by
Intercultural Communication provides a critical introduction to the dynamic arena of communication across different cultural and social strata. Throughout this book, topics are revisited, extended, interwoven, and deconstructed, with the reader's understanding strengthened by tasks and follow-up questions. The fourth edition of this popular textbook has been updated to feature: ■ new readings by Kwame Antony Appiah, Yoshitaka Miike, Edward Ademolu and Siobhan Warrington, Helena Liu, and Michael Zirulnik and Mark Orbe, which reflect the most recent developments in the field; ■ refreshed and expanded examples and tasks including new material on an Asiacentric approach to intercultural communication, selfies as a global discourse, the impact on intercultural communication of English as a lingua franca in multinational organisations, and representations of Africa in charity media campaigns; ■ extended discussions of topics including intercultural training, voluntourism, challenging essentialism in business contexts, and intersectional approaches to identity; ■ revised further reading suggestions. Written by experienced teachers and researchers in the field, this fourth edition of Intercultural Communication is an essential textbook for advanced students studying this topic.
Intercultural Communication in Japan by
Japan is heterogeneous and culturally diverse, both historically through ancient waves of immigration and in recent years due to its foreign relations and internationalization. However, Japan has socially, culturally, politically, and intellectually constructed a distinct and homogeneous identity. More recently, this identity construction has been rightfully questioned and challenged by Japan's culturally diverse groups. This book explores the discursive systems of cultural identities that regenerate the illusion of Japan as a homogeneous nation. Contributors from a variety of disciplines and methodological approaches investigate the ways in which Japan's homogenizing discourses are challenged and modified by counter-homogeneous message systems. They examine the discursive push-and-pull between homogenizing and heterogenizing vectors, found in domestic and transnational contexts and mobilized by various identity politics, such as gender, sexuality, ethnicity, foreign status, nationality, multiculturalism, and internationalization. After offering a careful and critical analysis, the book calls for a complicating of Japan's homogenizing discourses in nuanced and contextual ways, with an explicit goal of working towards a culturally diverse Japan. Taking a critical intercultural communication perspective, this book will be of interest to students and scholars of Japanese Studies, Japanese Culture and Japanese Society.
Getting Through by
Understanding how culture affects the ways we communicate--how we tell jokes, greet, ask questions, hedge, apologize, compliment, and so much more. We can learn to speak other languages, but do we truly understand what we are saying? How much detail should we offer when someone asks how we are? How close should we stand to our conversational partners? Is an invitation genuine or just pro forma? So much of communication depends on culture and context. In Getting Through, Roger Kreuz and Richard Roberts offer a guide to understanding and being understood in different cultures. Drawing on research from psychology, linguistics, sociology, and other fields, as well as personal experience, anecdotes, and popular culture, Kreuz and Roberts describe cross-cultural communication in terms of pragmatics--exploring how language is used and not just what words mean. Sometimes this is easy to figure out. If someone hisses "I'm fine!" though clenched teeth, we can assume that she's not really fine. But sometimes the context, cultural or otherwise, is more nuanced. For example, a visitor from another country might be taken aback when an American offers a complaint ("Cold out today!") as a greeting. And should you apologize the same way in Tokyo as you would in Toledo? Kreuz and Roberts help us navigate such subtleties. It's a fascinating way to think about human interaction, but it's not purely academic: The more we understand one another, the better we can communicate, and the better we can communicate, the more we can avoid conflict.
Advancing (Im)politeness Studies Cultural, Digital and Emotional Aspects by
This volume pushes forward research on (im)politeness by focusing on interpersonal interaction's cultural, digital and emotional aspects. With contributions by established and emerging scholars in the field, this collection explores and expounds, with the combination of solid theoretical foundation and up-close empirical demonstration, how (im)politeness not only gives but also gives off communicative and interpersonal meaning in diverse cultural contexts. Included are chapters on how (im)politeness contributes to the construction of social reality online and in social media and how (im)politeness prompts and is prompted by emotional sensitivities. This book is of interest and value to students and researchers in the field and those keen to know how effective human existence and essence are possible through the lens of (im)politeness.
Intercultural Communication in Japan by
Japan is heterogeneous and culturally diverse, both historically through ancient waves of immigration and in recent years due to its foreign relations and internationalization. However, Japan has socially, culturally, politically, and intellectually constructed a distinct and homogeneous identity. More recently, this identity construction has been rightfully questioned and challenged by Japan's culturally diverse groups. This book explores the discursive systems of cultural identities that regenerate the illusion of Japan as a homogeneous nation. Contributors from a variety of disciplines and methodological approaches investigate the ways in which Japan's homogenizing discourses are challenged and modified by counter-homogeneous message systems. They examine the discursive push-and-pull between homogenizing and heterogenizing vectors, found in domestic and transnational contexts and mobilized by various identity politics, such as gender, sexuality, ethnicity, foreign status, nationality, multiculturalism, and internationalization. After offering a careful and critical analysis, the book calls for a complicating of Japan's homogenizing discourses in nuanced and contextual ways, with an explicit goal of working towards a culturally diverse Japan. Taking a critical intercultural communication perspective, this book will be of interest to students and scholars of Japanese Studies, Japanese Culture and Japanese Society.
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive showcases unique periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media.
Temple University Japan Campus Library 1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811 Email: tujlib@temple.libanswers.com Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library