Skip to Main Content
Social Media and Society
This guide contains resources on the topic: Social Media and Society
Books in the TUJ Library
The Oxford Handbook of Internet Studies by
Internet Studies has been one of the most dynamic and rapidly expanding interdisciplinary fields to emerge over the last decade. The Oxford Handbook of Internet Studies has been designed to provide a valuable resource for academics and students in this area, bringing together leading scholarlyperspectives on how the Internet has been studied and how the research agenda should be pursued in the future. The Handbook aims to focus on Internet Studies as an emerging field, each chapter seeking to provide a synthesis and critical assessment of the research in a particular area.Topics covered include social perspectives on the technology of the Internet, its role in everyday life and work, implications for communication, power, and influence, and the governance and regulation of the Internet.The Handbook is a landmark in this new interdisciplinary field, not only helpingto strengthen research on the key questions, but also shape research, policy, and practice across many disciplines that are finding the Internet and its political, economic, cultural, and other societal implications increasingly central to their own key areas of inquiry.
Call Number: HM851 .O985 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Named a Best Book of the Year By Amazon andForeign AffairsMagazine Through the weaponization of social media, the internet is changing war and politics, just as war and politics are changing the internet. Terrorists livestream their attacks, "Twitter wars" produce real‑world casualties, and viral misinformation alters not just the result of battles, but the very fate of nations. War, tech, and politics have blurred into a new kind of battle space that plays out on our smartphones. P. W. Singer and Emerson Brooking tackle the mind‑bending questions that arise when war goes online and the online world goes to war. Delving into the web's darkest corners,LikeWar outlines a radical new paradigm for understanding and defending against the unprecedented threats of our networked world.
Call Number: HM742 .S5745 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Speech Police by
"David Kaye's book is crucial to understanding the tactics, rhetoric and stakes in one of the most consequential free speech debates in human history." --Cory Doctorow, author of Radicalized, Walkaway and Little Brother The internet was designed to be a kind of free-speech paradise, but a lot of the material on it turned out to incite violence, spread untruth, and promote hate. Over the years, three American behemoths--Facebook, YouTube and Twitter--became the way most of the world experiences the internet, and therefore the conveyors of much of its disturbing material. What should be done about this enormous problem? Should the giant social media platforms police the content themselves, as is the norm in the U.S., or should governments and international organizations regulate the internet, as many are demanding in Europe? How do we keep from helping authoritarian regimes to censor all criticisms of themselves? David Kaye has been has been at the center of the discussions of these issues for years. He takes us behind the scenes, from Facebook's "mini-legislative" meetings, to the European Commission's closed-door negotiations, and introduces us to journalists, activists, and content moderators whose stories bring clarity and urgency to the topic of censorship. Speech Police is the most comprehensive and insightful treatment of the subject thus far, and reminds us of the importance of maintaining the internet's original commitment to free speech, free of any company's or government's absolute control, while finding ways to modulate its worst aspects.
Call Number: TK5105.8854 .K39 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-03
Shadow Government by
In 1964, a book entitled The Invisible Government shocked Americans with its revelations of a growing world of intelligence agencies playing fast and loose around the planet, a secret government lodged inside the one they knew that even the president didn't fully control. Almost half a century later, everything about that "invisible government" has grown vastly larger, more disturbing, and far more visible. In his new book, Tom Engelhardt takes in something new under the sun: what is no longer, as in the 1960s, a national security state, but a global security one, fighting secret wars that have turned the president into an assassin-in-chief. Shadow Government offers a powerful survey of a democracy of the wealthy that your grandparents wouldn't have recognized.
Call Number: JK468.I6 E64 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
Internet Censorship by
Covering topics ranging from web filters to laws aimed at preventing the flow of information, this book explores freedom--and censorship--of the Internet and considers the advantages and disadvantages of policies at each end of the spectrum.Combining reference entries with perspective essays, this timely book undertakes an impartial exploration of Internet censorship, examining the two sides of the debate in depth. On the one side are those who believe censorship, to a greater or lesser degree, is acceptable; on the other are those who play the critical role of information freedom fighters. In Internet Censorship: A Reference Handbook, experts help readers understand these diverse views on Internet access and content viewing, revealing how both groups do what they do and why.The handbook shares key events associated with the Internet's evolution, starting with its beginnings and culminating in the present. It probes the motivation of newsmakers like Julian Assange, the Anonymous, and WikiLeaks hacker groups, and of risk-takers like Private Bradley Manning. It also looks at ways in which Internet censorship is used as an instrument of governmental control and at the legal and moral grounds cited to defend these policies, addressing, for example, why the governments of China and Iran believe it is their duty to protect citizens by filtering online content believed to be harmful.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2014-06-19
Social Media and Society by
Regina Luttrell and Adrienne A. Wallace present an engaging introduction of social media's integration with modern society. Recognizing categories of relational, societal, and self while analyzing the social media environment, this introductory mass communications textbook establishes a framework for understanding how technology, culture, democracy, economy, and audience fragmentation interact with each media industry differently and relate to media literacy. Armed with this knowledge, future professional communicators gain a better understanding of their audience and the level to which their strategies influence the public. Social Media and Society empowers students as consumers and creators of social media and illustrates that, while the tools of communication have changed, the goals of social connection and influence have not. Features of this unique text include the following: -Relational/Societal/Self boxes provide a framework for analysis of media and society -In Theory boxes attaching theory to practice -Learning tools and enhanced pedagogy, such as Learning Objectives, Chapter Wrap-Up; Critical Thinking Questions, Media Sources, and End of Chapter Activities -Comprehensive Glossary of key terms -Full-color visuals capturing key trends and up-to-date data
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2021-04-14
Social Media and Your Brain by
While society has widely condemned the effects on preteens and teens' natural social maturation of digitally enabled communication, such as texting and messaging, and of social media apps, such as Facebook, Instagram, and SnapChat, these forms of communication are adversely affecting everyone, including adults. This book examines how social media and modern communication methods are isolating users socially, jeopardizing their intellectual habits, and, as a result, decreasing their chances of achieving social and professional success.The ubiquitous use of the Internet and social media is changing our society--in some ways, for the worse. Use of social media, the Internet, and other purely digital and less-personal communication methods are distorting the intellectual and social maturation of teens and preteens in particular--those among us who were born into and raised with Internet technology. People's ability to read facial expressions, interpret subtle differences in spoken intonation, and perceive body language is in significant decline due to the use of social media and the Internet largely replacing direct, face-to-face contact with other human beings. This book documents how changes in our daily behavior caused by the proliferation of social media are reshaping individuals' personalities and causing an evolution of the character of our society as a whole. Readers will understand how these important changes came about and how more connectivity all too often leads to more ignorance and less comprehension, and will consider solutions that could counter the negative effects of being "too connected, too often."
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Databases - Best Bets
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports across all major subject areas.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online provides access to journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences from Sage Publications.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 20 CQ Researcher provides reports written by journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
JSTOR Security Studies This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Security Studies offers journals, ebooks, and approximately 20,000 Open Access research reports. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
Temple University Japan Campus Library 1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library