Skip to Main Content
On our shelves, many of our Education books can be found in these sections:
- BF 712-724.92 - Developmental psychology
- HQ 767.8-792.2 - Children. Child Development
- HV 701-1420.4 - Social and public welfare. Children. Daycare
- LA - History of Education
- LB - Theory and Practice of Education
- LC - Forms of Education (Primary - Higher Education, Public Education, Educational Sociology)
- LG 240-277 - Education in Japan
See more books using these pre-made subject searches below:
Books in the TUJ Library
Routledge Handbook of the Sociology of Higher Education by
This is the first handbook to cover the sociological approaches to higher education. It is timely because of global expansions of mass higher educational systems, especially as these systems come under scrutiny by a variety of stakeholders. Questions are being raised about the value of traditional pedagogies along with calls for efficiency, accountability and cost-reduction, but above all job training. Within this neoliberal context, each chapter examines different sociological aspects of, and debates about, educational institutions as status-conferring organizations, with myriad positional characteristics, experiences, and outcomes. Many current debates concern the legitimacy of the statuses conferred, including the continuing debate regarding the role of universities in legitimating social class reproduction as well as more recent concerns about standards in mass systems. This handbook puts these issues and debates in focus in ways that will be of interest to a variety of stakeholders, within academia as well as in policy circles.
Call Number: LC191.9 .R68 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Risk Society and Education in Post-Disaster Fukushima by
In response to the explosion of the Fukushima Daiichi power plant in March 2011, this book examines how the concept of a risk society was handled in the various education programs implemented in post-disaster Fukushima. The explosion and subsequent radiation contamination that affected the biosphere of the Fukushima region and beyond, revealed that we live in a risk society. Despite this revelation, official discourses in Fukushima have been geared strictly toward the future, with the aim of restoring communities and resuming development projects. Based on the ethnographic data the author collected in Fukushima between 2013 and 2016, various contested emotions emerged in those education spaces as students and teachers remembered their romanticized and difficult past and dealt with the challenges presented by the risk society in their present lives. The emotionally-charged interactions between past and present also shaped their vision of their future community and of the actions they might take. The dialogues and actions that took places in these education spaces encourage readers to examine the meaning of development and question the basic assumptions and methods of education as society shifts to a risk society. A valuable resource for scholars and students in the fields of globalization and education, curriculum studies, sociology of education, and Japanese studies.
Call Number: LC191.8.J3 M58 2022
Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Theories of Childhood: an introduction to Dewey, Montessori, Erikson, Piaget, and Vygotsky by
Understand theories of childhood to make your days with children smoother, your job easier, and your program stronger. This best-selling resource provides clear, straightforward introductions to the foundational theories of John Dewey, Maria Montessori, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget, and Lev Vygotsky. Each chapter highlights a theorist’s work and includes insight on how the theory impacts teaching young children today. Discussion questions and suggested readings are included to help you gain an understanding of what it means to apply each theory to your work with children. Theories of Childhood, Second Edition: Builds the bridge between theory and best practices in early childhood education Supports your genuine enjoyment with children by helping you understand more about the ways they grow and learn Includes new understandings of Vygotsky’s work Applies the five theories to the realities of the twenty-first century Carol Garhart Mooney has been an early childhood educator for more than forty years. She is also the author of Theories of Attachment, Use Your Words, and Swinging Pendulums.
Call Number: LB1139.23 .M64 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
Browse for more Education books located in the TUJ Library.
International and Comparative Education by
International and Comparative Education offers detailed and wide-ranging illustrations of the ways in which comparison can illuminate our understanding of contemporary education systems by exploring issues in relation to specific educational sectors, from early-years and primary schooling, through to further, adult and higher education. Key areas and debates examined include: Alternative education provision Early-years pedagogy and training Spiritual, moral, social and cultural development in primary schooling Work-related learning in secondary schools The world of private tutoring Economic austerity and further education Apprenticeships and vocational education Adult education and training Higher education in a globalised world Teacher training and international rankings. Drawing on these wide-ranging themes across a number of national contexts to provoke critical thinking and reflection, each chapter includes discussion points and further reading, providing a valuable resource for all Education Studies students.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2017-08-07
The Oxford Handbook of The History of Education by
Offering a global perspective on the historical development of education, this handbook has sections on theory and methods, ancient and medieval education, the rise of national school systems, the development of universities in different contexts, problems of inequality and discrimination in education, and reform and institutional change. Specific chapters discuss colonialism and anticolonial struggles, indigenous education, gender issues in education, higher education systems, educational reform, urban and rural education, the education of minority groups, comparative, international, and transnational education, childhood and education, nonformal and informal education, and a range of other topics.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2019
Dumbing Us Down by
Throw off the shackles of formal schooling and embark upon a rich journey of self-directed, life-long learning After over 100 years of mandatory schooling in the U.S., literacy rates have dropped, families are fragmented, learning "disabilities" are skyrocketing, and children and youth are increasingly disaffected. Thirty years of teaching in the public school system led John Taylor Gatto to the sad conclusion that compulsory governmental schooling is to blame, accomplishing little but to teach young people to follow orders like cogs in an industrial machine. He became a fierce advocate of families and young people taking back education and learning, arguing that "genius is as common as dirt," but that conventional schooling is driving out the natural curiosity and problem-solving skills we're born with, replacing it with rule-following, fragmented time, and disillusionment. Gatto's radical treatise on public education, a New Society Publishers bestseller for 25 years, continues to bang the drum for an unshackling of children and learning from formal schooling. Now, in an ever-more-rapidly changing world with an explosion of alternative routes to learning, it's poised to continue to shake the world of institutional education for many more years. Featuring a new foreword from Zachary Slayback, an Ivy League dropout and cofounder of tech start-up career foundry Praxis, this 25th anniversary edition will inspire new generations of parents and students to take control of learning and kickstart an empowered society of self-directed lifetime-learners.
Call Number: LA217.2 .G388 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
Browse for more Education books located in the e-book Library collection.
Search the Whole Collection
Results from this search display all books, e-books, videos, magazine and newspaper articles, scholarly journal articles and other resource-types found in the library collection. Use the Advanced Search option for more targeted results.
When you're not using a library guide, you can search the library collection using the TUJ Library Web Site or Main Campus Library Web Site. Both utilize the same database search tools.
Temple University Japan Campus Library 1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library