The Legacy of Mesoamerica: ANTH / LAS 2098 / HIST 3096

Find resources for information literacy assignments and final research paper

Find reliable background information on Mesoamerica

Use encyclopedias listed on this page to track down expert-generated sources of background information about any Mesoamerican topic. Scholarly encyclopedia articles help researchers to contextualize their topics and in turn to begin asking the right questions.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures [FULL-TEXT ONLINE] by edited by Davíd Carrasco
Call Number: F1218.6 .O95 2006eb
ISBN: 0195108159
The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas: Mesoamerica, Part 1 by Richard E. W. Adams (Editor); Murdo J. MacLeod (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas: Mesoamerica, Part 2 by Richard E. W. Adams (Editor); Murdo J. MacLeod (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
The A to Z of Ancient Mesoamerica by Joel W. Palka
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1461671736
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Cambridge History of Latin America, Vol. 1 by Leslie Bethell (Editor, Contribution by)
Call Number: E-Book

Find encyclopedia articles on more contemporary topics

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Library Search This link opens in a new window
To find encyclopedia articles, search for a topic and select the "Articles" box. Then select the filter "Reference Entry" under "Resource Type"

Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present) by Thomas M. Leonard (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, focusing on Latin America as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Gale Editors (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-04-11
This third edition of Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America updates the essays in the second edition on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.