Articles in Periodicals - Business Research Guide - Fox School of Business

Business Periodicals

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM provides publications on business conditions, trends, and management techniques. Titles are available full-text, including the Wall Street Journal.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights Global is online resource on international business. It contains economic and statistical data that combines an international perspective and research tools with access to learning materials.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains full text journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Some of the titles included are Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, etc.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Note: Follow these instructions to link Google Scholar with Temple's resources.
Google Scholar provides search for scholarly literature. It covers disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Business Newspapers

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to newly added titles is guaranteed through May 2027
ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains many US and international newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including the New York Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, and Washington Post.
New York Times Full-Text (1980-present) [via ProQuest U.S. Newsstream] This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal Full-Text (1984-present) [via ABI/INFORM Complete] This link opens in a new window
WSJ (Eastern edition) contains complete text only coverage of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.
US Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites dating back to 1980. Some titles include: Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Legal Resources

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is an online product with pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides coverage from law and law-related periodicals. It also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) offers full-text access to news, legal, and business sources including: journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, federal and state cases and statutes, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
West Law Campus Research provides online access to legal, news, and business-related research for students, faculty, and library staff.

Papers and Conference Proceedings

PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
Papers First contains citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Covers October 1993 to the present.
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
Proceedings First provides citations of publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Covers 1993 to the present. (Updated twice weekly)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also includes access to EndNote Online.

Scholarly, Popular, Trade? What's in a name? (short)

Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade publications.

Journal Types
Popular, Scholarly, Trade? What's in a Name?	Scholarly Journals	Popular Journals	Trade Journals
Purpose	Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.	Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.	Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Authors	Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.	Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.	Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Audience	Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.	Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.	Intended for practitioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu