LGBT Social Movements: GSWS 3000 / LGBT 3400

This guide is designed to help students do research for the LGBT Social Movements: History, Politics, and Change in America (GSWS 3000 / LGBT 3400) course.

Local & National Organizations

Need to find a local or national organization? Use the following sources to identify organizations and find their contact information.

Activism Network.org
Includes a searchable database of activist groups, activists, and schools. Search by location and cause.

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Directory Library provides full-text, searchable access to Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations and Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the US. Users can also sort and export data from the directories.

Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce Membership Directory
Find key contacts in the Philadelphia area. Browse "Civic & Social organizations" and "Social Advocacy organizations."
Philadelphia Environmental Organizations
Philadelphia LBGTQ Organizations
Washington Information Directory
Find key contacts at government agencies and national organizations.

Search Tips

What should you look for on an organization's website?

Any page(s) that identify what the organization does or believes. Look for any "About us," "Mission," or "History" tabs/pages.

Any pages that offer content the organization produces. Look for any "Publications," "Annual Report," or "What's New" tabs/pages, as well as social media feeds (Twitter, Facebook etc.).

LGBT Social Movements: GSWS 3000 / LGBT 3400

Local & National Organizations

Search Tips

Temple University

University Libraries