This list comprises online resources aimed at expanding and diversifying the body of music we use for teaching, learning, and performing. The entries are sorted into three categories:
- Databases, websites, and lists focused on examples for use in theory classes
- Databases, websites, and lists focused on ethnic and cultural diversity
- Databases, websites, and lists for increasing visibility and representation of women composers, LGTBQ composers, and composers of nonconforming gender identity
Please direct suggestions for additions to this list to Becca Fülöp (firstname.lastname@example.org) or Alexander deVaron (email@example.com).
Databases, websites, and lists focused on examples for use in theory classes
Expanding the Music Theory Canon
A database organized by examples relevant to music theory classes from the common practice period through the 21st century.
Music by Women
A database organized around similar examples to the one above, featuring women composers.
Music Theory Examples by BIPOC Composers
A collaborative spreadsheet of music theory examples that is constantly being updated by the music theory community.
Diverse Music Theory Examples
A database of written and aural theory examples featuring women composers, LGBTQ composers, composers of color, and non-Western European composers. Users can also browse a list of the composers featured in this database.
A good resource for popular music examples, although users should check to make sure of the accuracy of the examples they use.
Databases, websites, and lists focused on ethnic and cultural diversity
Composer Diversity Database
An extremely far-reaching and well-designed database, this is an initiative of the Institute for Composer Diversity.
The Composers Equity Project
Chamber music written by composers who identify as women, gender non-conforming, African/Black, Latinx, Asian/South Asian, Arab/Middle Eastern, and Native American.
Music by Black Composers
Organization led by violinist Rachel Barton Pine dedicated to inspiring Black students of classical music and promoting the music of Black composers, this website includes a number of resources including lists of both living and historical Black composers.
Music by Black Composers: Vocal and Opera Repertoire
Lists books and resources for finding vocal repertoire by Black composers.
Castle of Our Skins
A concert and educational series based in Boston dedicated to celebrating Black artistry through music. An elegant site with a great list of other websites and databases of Black and Latinx composers.
The Sphinx Organization
Focused on increasing the presence of Black and Latinx musicians, Sphinx is best known for its educational and advocacy programs. The site also has some databases of its own, and links to other databases.
Strings of Latin America (SOLA)
A leading organization in cataloging the repertoire written for stringed instruments by Latin American composers.
Theodore Front: Asian and Asian-American Composers
Sheet music vendor Theodore Front provides this comprehensive list of Asian and Asian-American composers.
Databases, websites, and lists for increasing visibility and representation of women composers, LGTBQ composers, and composers of nonconforming gender identity
Composer Diversity Database
Also included in the previous category, this database is also a good resource for gender diverse composers.
Alliance for Women Film Composers
A fun website with a directory of women composers of film music.
A Modern Reveal
A website focusing on women composers. Even though it is specialized, it has a great page of links to other websites doing similar work.
A website and list of Canadian classical musicians who identify as queer or gender nonconforming in other ways.
Women in Music
A list of over 5000 women composers.
A database of art songs by women composers.
A Seat at the Piano
A database promoting the teaching and performance of piano music by underrepresented composers.
The Boulanger Initiative
Organization dedicated to promoting the music of women and gender marginalized composers. Of particular interest is "Redefining the Canon," which works to update orchestral audition excerpts to include excerpts by historically underrepresented composers.