Research Guides: LGBT Studies: Selected Internet Resources

LGBT Resources on the Web

The following educational and non-profit portals provide publications on a wide variety of LGBT-related topics. The information on these sites can be used for academic purposes, i.e. to obtain credible and authoritative background information, explore a topic more deeply, find primary-source documents, etc.

Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)
See Publications and Resources categories for full-text guides and reports on various topics of interest to the LGBT community.
Gay and Lesbian Organizations and Publications
A list of national and international, non-profit LGBT organizations maintained by Alvin Fritz, librarian at the University of Washington Libraries
GLBT Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association
Professional organization responsible for conferring the prestigious Stonewall Book Awards. Check out their informative newsletter and bibliographies.
GLBTQ.com: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
Encyclopedia of 2,000 signed articles on literature, the arts, and the social sciences written by academics and other experts.
Human Rights Campaign (HRC Resources)
"HRC seeks to improve the lives of LGBT Americans by advocating for equal rights and benefits in the workplace, ensuring families are treated equally under the law and increasing public support among all Americans through innovative advocacy, education and outreach programs" (website).
Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund
"Lambda Legal is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work."
more...less...
"Lambda Legal publishes [online] an assortment of booklets; tool kits; brochures; short material on cases, issues and campaigns; and more."
LGBT Archives and Libraries
A list compiled by The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Community Center of New York City, itself home to The National Archive of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force: Reports & Research
Research reports, issue maps, and fact sheets "ranging from the effects of same-sex marriage restriction on Latino families to ex-gay ministries to right-wing efforts to win African-American votes by spreading homophobia."
OutHistory.org
"OutHistory.org is produced by The Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies (CLAGS), located at the City University of New York Graduate Center." It currently contains well over 500 entries on various aspects of LGBT History.
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
"People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world."
William Way Center - Archive
"Philadelphia 's most extensive collection of rare books, periodicals, video and audio tapes, periodicals, personal correspondence, and other ephemera documenting the rich history of our LGBT community."
Williams Institute - UCLA School of Law
"The Williams Institute advances sexual orientation law and public policy through rigorous, independent research and scholarship, and disseminates it to judges, legislators, policymakers, media and the public."
more...less...
Offers a wide range of research material from policy reports to bibliographies.