Research Guides: Engineering: Find books

Library Search

Library Search is your gateway to discover books, journal articles, and much more at Temple University Libraries. Additional information can be found in our Library Search FAQ's.

Ebook collections

Knovel Library
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Knovel provides access to reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences. Subject areas covered include: chemistry and chemical engineering, plastics and rubbers, semiconductors, advanced materials, and safety, health and hygiene.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Taylor & Francis eBooks offer full text content over a wide range of academic disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
AccessEngineering
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Note: If you receive an 'Error 400' message, please try clearing cookies or browser. The issue seems to occur in Chrome.
Access Engineering provides engineering reference information, instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools
O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari)

Note: Search for ‘Temple University’ on the 'Sign in with your school or institution' page and enter an @temple.edu email address. Content is only available for online viewing and link sharing. There are no options to download or print.
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Tech Books Online) provides access to current knowledge, trends, conversations, and real-world experiences in business and technology. The content includes ebooks, video, learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, and audio books. Our subscription does not currently support the O'Reilly app.

Searching for Books Beyond Temple

E-ZBorrow
Search here for books from PA libraries, requests are received in 3-5 business days.
Google Books
Search the full-text of books. You won't be able to view more than a couple pages of most of the books, but if you can use the search capabilities here to identify relevant books that you can then look-up in the library.
WorldCat
Search here for books across libraries worldwide. You can request books you find that Temple doesn't have through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan.
ILLIAD
Request books that are not available in the Temple Libraries or from E-ZBorrow. Requests can take many days or weeks to arrive, plan ahead.

Encyclopedia and reference sources

Access Science
Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Encyclopedia Britannica
The online edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica is a fully searchable and browsable collection of over 73,000 authoritative reference articles.

Browse the stacks

Q Science
Q180 Operations research
Q300-390 Artificial intelligence
QA Mathematics
QA75-QA76 Computer science
QA801-QA939 Analytical / fluid mechanics
QC Physics
QD Chemistry
QE Geology
R Medicine
R856 - R857 Biomedical engineering
T Technology
T55 - T60.8 Industrial engineering
T385 Computer graphics
TA Engineering (general), Civil engineering
TA349 -359 Mechanics of engineering
TA401 - 492 Materials of engineering, construction
TA630 - 820 Structural engineering, geotechnical engineering
TC Hydraulic engineering
TD Environmental engineering
TE Highway engineering
TF Railroad engineering, operations
TG Bridge engineering
TH Building construction
TJ Mechanical engineering, machinery
TJ Power resources
TJ210.2-225 Robotics
TK Electrical engineering, electronics, nuclear engineering
TK5101-6720 Telecommunications
TK 7800-8360 Electronics
TL Motor vehicles, aeronautics, astronautics
TN Mining engineering, metallurgy
TP Chemical technology
TS Manufacturing
VM Naval architecture. Marine engineering

Engineering OER (Open Educational Resources)

The Scholarly Communications Committee from the Engineering Libraries Division of the American Society for Engineering Education has created a online resource that provides links to open textbooks in the engineering field. This resource aggregates information from around 20 different OER websites and organizes it by engineering discipline and, in some cases, by subdiscipline.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu